Posted 13/09/2017

Coming Soon: A New Eisenhorn Novel

We are delighted to announce that as part of next year’s celebration of all things Black Library (which includes reprints of two classic novels voted for by you), we’ll be releasing a brand new novel by Dan Abnett. And not just any novel… The Magos is a new entry in one of the best loved Warhammer 40,000 series of all time: Eisenhorn.

It’s been fifteen years since rogue Inquisitor Gregor Eisenhorn last appeared in a novel of his own, and five since his appearance in Pariah, the first book in a sequel trilogy that brings him together with his old acolyte Gideon Ravenor. So how did The Magos come about? Here’s Dan Abnett himself to shed some light:

The Magos is a brand new Eisenhorn novel… and one I didn’t expect to write.  This epic volume gathers together all the Eisenhorn short stories that have appeared over the years, several of which haven’t been in print before. But it’s not just an anthology for completists. There’s an entire, new, full-length novel here too, one which ties together many elements from those short stories to become the unexpected fourth book in what was previously the Eisenhorn trilogy. Hunting for heresy in the remote worlds of the Imperium, Gregor Eisenhorn must confront the truth about himself: who is the real heretic? And, in this life-or-death struggle, who is the hunter and who is the hunted? Essential reading for all fans of the Eisenhorn and Ravenor series.” – Dan

Thank you, Dan. We can’t wait to get our hands on this new novel, and thankfully, it’s not going to be too long a wait, as we can expect to have it in our hands in February 2018. Before then, we have more to look forward to from Dan, with The Warmaster, the fourteenth book in the Gaunt’s Ghosts series, coming in December. At the Black Library Weekender in November, you’ll be able to get your hands on The Warmaster early, and meet Dan Abnett to get it signed – plus, he’s also doing a seminar talking about the new Eisenhorn book. An excellent opportunity to be among the first to find out more about it!

Of course, now would also be a really good time to re-read (or perhaps even read for the first time, if you’ve never had the pleasure) the classic Eisenhorn trilogy of Xenos, Malleus and Hereticus to prepare you for The Magos.

Share this:


  • Latest News & Features
  • Black Library