Access Warscroll Builder

Posted 22/11/2016

Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook Final FAQ

Hey folks,

A good few months ago now, we asked you for your questions on the Warhammer 40,000 rules to help our team with the new FAQ. Literally thousands of you responded, sending in your suggestions and rules conundrums. After sorting through them, we posted a draft up on the Warhammer 40,000 Facebook page, and again asked for your thoughts (before they were ratified as the word of the Emperor), and once more we gathered all your feedback.

Now, we have the finished FAQ and Errata for the core rulebook of the Warhammer 40,000 game. There have been a good few changes since the draft, mostly as a result of your feedback. We’d like to thank all of you who contributed to the process, helping us make the game better for everyone: so if you did, give yourself a well deserved pat on the back.

We’d also like to thank the team at the Las Vegas Open tournament, who helped with some of the detail on this final draft.

But we’re not done yet. This is just the first of the FAQ’s to be finalised. This will be followed soon by official answers for your questions on the game’s codexes and supplements.

Once again, we’d like to say a big thank you for your help.

You can read the FAQ below, or download it here:

download-button

PS – For those of you who have the digital books you’ll be pleased to hear that all affected digital products will be updated over the coming weeks. For the moment, the FAQ is only available to download in English.

60040199041_40kstandardedition01

FAQs


MODELS

Q: What does ‘base contact’ or ‘base-to-base contact’ mean? Are two models in base contact if one is on a step, and their bases are not in (and cannot be put in) physical contact? Or if they are more separated than that e.g. on different levels, where a charge distance is sufficient for the charging model to reach the level containing the other unit, but it cannot be placed on the level above?
A: An element of common sense is required here. If they’re only fractionally apart due to the vagaries of scenery they count as being in base contact. However, though models on different levels of a building can be locked in combat with one another, they will not be considered in base contact with one another for the purposes of special rules or equipment that require models to be in base contact to take effect.

Q: How do you handle situations where you are attempting to charge a model that is on top of something, where there is no room for a model to be in base contact?
A: The ‘Wobbly Model Syndrome’ rule applies – place the model as near as possible, and keep a note of its actual position. It is assumed to be in base contact with the other model.

Q: In rules that say ‘within X inches’, do you mean wholly within or partially within?
A: Partially within, unless specifically stated otherwise.

Q: What are the official rules regarding specific base sizes for specific models (if any)?
A: The rules assume that models are mounted on the base they are supplied with, but it’s entirely fine to mount them on whichever base you think is appropriate. Sometimes, a player may have models in their collection on unusually modelled bases. Some models aren’t supplied with a base at all. In these cases you should always feel free to mount the model on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using models of a similar type as guidance.

Q: Can any part of a model intentionally hang off the edge of the table?
A: No part of a model may hang over the edge of the battlefield, except for parts that are explicitly ignored while checking line of sight (e.g. the wings or tail of a non-vehicle model).

Q: When I am using ‘long’ or ‘oval’ Cavalry/Bikes/Monstrous Creatures’ bases, am I allowed to pivot the base on the spot to gain additional movement like vehicles would?
A: When making a move, you have to take into account how far all parts of the model have moved. Or to put that another way, trying to come up with a way of making a move that allows a model to move ‘further’ than its maximum movement distance is illegal. It is not allowed for a model to move 6″ towards or away from something, and end up more than 6″ closer to or further away from it!

Q: Please confirm if a model may never be in coherency unless the model’s entire unit has unit coherency.
A: A model cannot be in coherency unless its entire unit is in coherency. Coherency is determined when a unit has finished moving, not during the move.

Q: What is the vertical firing arc for shooting from Flyers, and how is this split between targets above and below the shooter?
A: Assume that weapons can swivel 90° vertically – 45° upwards and 45° downwards.

Q: With regard to Bike and Artillery models, I measure from their weapons when they are shooting, and to their bases when they are shot at. Is this correct?
A: When Artillery models fire, range is measured from the barrel of the gun on the model. When Bike models fire, range is measured from the base. When firing at Artillery or Bike models, range is measured to the base – if they have one – or the hull.

Q: Warhammer 40,000: The Rules states that line of sight can be drawn from any part of the model (not including wings, tail, etc.) to the intended target. Can my model’s foot truly be used as a line of sight starting point?
A: For simplicity and ease of play, the rules state that ‘For one model to have line of sight to another, you must be able to trace a straight, unblocked line from its body (the head, torso, arms or legs) to any part of the target’s body.’ If you wish, you and your opponent may agree that models are only allowed to draw line of sight from the model’s head, or the closest equivalent on the model.

Q: Do a Flyer’s wings and tail count as part of its hull? (e.g. If you can only see a wing can you shoot at it? If you are only in range of the wing can you shoot at or charge it? When hovering, can the wing get you Linebreaker if it is within 12″ of the board edge?)
A: Yes, a Flyer’s wings and tail are considered part of the hull in all respects.


PSYCHIC PHASE

Q: If there are 2 Daemon Psykers who cast Cursed Earth and they are within 12″ of each other, do they have a +2 bonus to their invulnerable save, since the spell says this is cumulative with any other bonus?
A: No. Modifiers from identical psychic powers do not stack.

Q: If a unit includes multiple Psykers – e,g, Independent Characters, or Brotherhood of Psykers – can they cast the same power (e.g. Psychic Shriek) multiple times, once for each Psyker?
A: No.

Q: If I have Tigurius and a Grey Knights Librarian in the same unit, can Tigurius use his re-roll for a power known by the Librarian?
A: No.

Q: The Telekinesis psychic power Crush – when you roll for Strength and get an 11 or 12 it counts as an automatic wound or penetrating hit. For the purposes of Instant Death, what Strength does it count as?
A: Strength 10.

Q: How does a power that targets ‘the Psyker’ but not his unit work on a unit with Brotherhood of Psykers? If, for example, a Wyrdvane Psyker squad casts Iron Arm, does one model nominated as ‘the caster’ receive the benefits?
A: The power applies to all ‘Brotherhood of Psykers’ models in the unit.

Q: Is the maximum number of powers a Psyker can use in their turn equal to their Mastery Level, or the number of powers they have (due to Psychic Focus they often have one more power than their Mastery Level)?
A: Unless explicitly permitted to do so, Psykers may not attempt to manifest more psychic powers than the number of their Mastery Level within a single Psychic phase.

Q: Can Space Marines really summon Daemons? And even summon Daemons on a roll of 2+ using the Librarius Conclave’s Empyric Channelling?
A: Yes, to both questions.

Q: When attempting to Deny the Witch on a blessing or conjuration, do you select a unit first to make the attempt? If so, how is it selected, and if that unit has a re-roll on Deny the Witch, do you get that as well?
A: You do not select a unit. If none of your units were the target of the enemy’s psychic power (as is the case with blessing and conjuration powers) you can still attempt to Deny the Witch, but with no re-rolls or modifiers to your dice rolls – you will require rolls of 6 to nullify each Warp Charge point.

Q: If you play Daemons and you successfully summon a Bloodthirster using the Daemonology psychic powers, what profile will the Bloodthirster have: the one in Codex: Chaos Daemons, or one of the ones in Codex: Khorne Daemonkin?
A:You can choose to use any of the army list entries from Codex: Chaos Daemons, Codex: Khorne Daemonkin or War Zone Fenris: Curse of the Wulfen – but not Skarbrand!

Q: Do the effects of multiple castings of the same malediction cast on the same turn stack? For example, can additional castings of Banishment continue to reduce a Daemon’s invulnerable save?
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise, the penalty from any particular malediction can only affect a unit once per turn.

Q: Do units that move 12″ with the psychic power Levitation shoot using their full Ballistic Skill or can they only fire Snap Shots?
A: They shoot as though they had moved in the preceding Movement phase.

Q: How many dice does a Mastery Level 2 Librarian joined with a Mastery Level 1 Grey Knights Strike Squad generate for their Warp Charge pool?
A: Three.

Q: If the Veil of Darkness is used while with a group of warriors and you go into Ongoing Reserves due to a Deep Strike Mishap, can you come in by Deep Striking?
A: Only if all of the models involved have the Deep Strike rule.

Q: If a unit has successfully manifested the Gate of Infinity psychic power but mishaps with its Deep Strike and gets the Delayed result, how does it come back into play the next round – walking on from its own table edge or by Deep Strike?
A: It arrives by Deep Strike.


WITCHFIRE POWERS

Q: Does Perfect Timing affect witchfire psychic powers?
A: No.

Q: Can you take a ‘Look Out, Sir’ roll against successful focussed witchfire powers, especially ones that don’t have a normal shooting profile?
A: Yes.

Q: Are witchfire psychic powers counted as Assault 1 if they have no profile (the Neurothrope’s Spirit Leech power, for example)?
A: No. If a witchfire power does not have a profile, follow the instructions written for that power instead (in the case of Spirit Leech, you simply pick the target unit which must then take a Leadership test on 3D6).

Q: Does the To Hit roll for certain witchfire powers that affect ‘targeted models’ care what the result of the To Hit roll is?
A: If a witchfire power does not have a profile, follow the instructions written for that power instead – this includes most focussed witchfire powers. If a witchfire power has a profile, and is manifested successfully, it rolls to hit in the same manner as a shooting attack.

Q: Can Psykers embarked in vehicles or buildings only cast witchfire powers? Does this include Psykers who are riders of a Chariot?
A: Psykers embarked in Transports or buildings can only cast witchfire powers. Psykers who are riders of Chariots can attempt to manifest any type of psychic power.


NOVAS & BEAMS

Q: On Cleansing Flame – if two enemy units are in range, are there 2D6 hits divided amongst the two enemy units, or 2D6 hits for each enemy unit? If the latter, how many times do you roll the 2D6 – once, or twice?
A: Each enemy unit hit suffers 2D6 hits. Roll separately for each unit.

Q: A beam attack does not target a unit – can you still Jink?
A: No.

Q: Can you cast blessings, maledictions and nova powers from Open-topped vehicles?
A: Transported units can only use witchfire powers – and may not use beam, focussed witchfire or nova powers.


SHOOTING PHASE

Q: Does an Imperial Knight get to use its ion shield – or a Big Mek with kustom force field get an invulnerable save – against hits caused by a model that suffers an Explodes! result?
A: Yes.

Q: When does vertical distance matter? For example, are shooting attacks only affected by the horizontal distance?
A: Measurements for shooting are (for most models) measured from base to base. Where one model’s base is more elevated than the other, this will mean measuring the distance diagonally.


INTERVENING MODELS

Q: In the rules for cover saves it says that intervening models grant cover even if the model is fully visible unless you shoot over the intervening models. Does this include models that are taller than the intervening models i.e. are taller models able to shoot over shorter models?
A: Yes, as long as the line of sight for the weapon being used is not obscured by the intervening models and does not pass through a gap between the models in the intervening unit.

Q: Can Infantry count as intervening for a Monstrous Creature or a Gargantuan Creature?
A: Yes, but only if 25% or more of the model is obscured by the intervening Infantry unit from the perspective of the firer.

Q: Models obscured by intervening models get a 5+ cover save just like the cover rules of terrain. Does this mean that I only get the cover save if the models are obscured by more than 25%?
A: No – the target only needs to be partially obscured. If, on the other hand, the target is completely visible to the firer, but the firer shoots through a gap between models in the intervening unit, then the target still receives a 5+ cover save.


SAVES

Q: Warhammer 40,000: The Rules states that a model gets ‘the advantage of always using the best available save’. Does that mean we have to use the numerically lowest save, or do we have the option of using any save we have?
A: The controlling player can use their discretion as to which of their model’s saves is ‘the best’.


WEAPONS

Q: Can you clarify the use of a weapon as both a ranged and a melee weapon in the same turn?
A: A weapon that can be used as a ranged and a melee weapon can be used as both in the same turn unless specifically noted otherwise.

Q: When a model has a pistol and a close combat weapon, does it gain 1 or 2 additional attacks?
A: It gains 1 additional attack.

Q: A Dreadnought has Strength 6, and with power fists, has Strength x2. Does the Dreadnought have Strength 12 for the purposes of Instant Death?
A: Strength cannot be modified above 10.

Q: Heavy weapons and Salvo weapons are affected by movement – how does this work when firing Overwatch in the enemy’s turn?
A: When weapons are affected by movement in this way, it refers to movement in the preceding Movement phase. When firing Overwatch, the preceding Movement phase is your opponent’s, and your models are very unlikely to have moved in it! They would therefore count as not having moved.

Q: Do weapon special rules that say ‘a model equipped with this weapon’ or ‘this weapon’s bearer’ take effect even when not used as the attacking weapon?
A: Yes.

Q: Do Master-crafted combi-meltas (especially in the case of Salamander Chapter Tactics and Vulkan He’stan’s The Forgefather special rule) count as Master-crafted for both the bolter and the melta parts, or just the melta part?
A: Both the primary and secondary weapon of a Master-crafted combi-weapon are Master-crafted.

Q: If a unit with a Heavy weapon is forced to get out of a wrecked vehicle during the enemy’s Shooting phase, but doesn’t move during its next Movement phase, does it fire normally or with Snap Shots?
A: It can fire normally.

Q: If a model has a Poisoned close combat weapon and a normal close combat weapon, does it gain the bonus attack for having two close combat weapons?
A: Yes.

Q: Do plasma cannons and other Gets Hot Blast weapons benefit from rules that allow them to re-roll To Hit rolls of 1? For example, a Clan Raukaan character wearing the Tempered Helm nominates a unit of friendly Devastators to re-roll To Hit rolls of 1 in this Shooting phase. These Devastators are all equipped with plasma cannons. Do they get to re-roll the Gets Hot roll if it comes up as 1?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a model fire a pistol in the Shooting phase and then still benefit from the extra attack in the ensuing Assault phase?
A: Yes.

Q: If I move the gun model from an Artillery unit but the crewman stays stationary, does it fire as if it had moved?
A: Yes.


ORDNANCE

Q: Can a Fast vehicle fire Ordnance weapons at Cruising Speed?
A: A Fast vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn, but can fire a single Ordnance weapon at its full Ballistic Skill, even at Cruising Speed.

Q: If you fire an Ordnance weapon from a Stationary vehicle, are all other shots Snap Shots? What about when moving? How is this altered if the vehicle is a Heavy Tank (e.g. a Leman Russ Demolisher with plasma cannon sponsons), or Fast, or a Flyer (e.g. when firing hellstrike missiles, does firing the first missile mean that the second is fired as a Snap Shot)?
A: A vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn (whether Stationary or moving). A vehicle being Heavy has no effect on firing Ordnance weapons. A Fast vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn, but can fire a single Ordnance weapon at its full Ballistic Skill even at Cruising Speed. A Flyer firing two hellstrike missiles in a turn fires both at the same time, as described in the ‘Select a Weapon’ step of the Shooting phase. Both missiles would be fired at the Flyer’s full Ballistic Skill – all other weapons could only make Snap Shots that turn.

Q: Are Ordnance weapons and Heavy vehicles supposed to interact differently?
A: The Heavy unit type has no effect on the firing of Ordnance weapons. If a Heavy vehicle doesn’t fire an Ordnance weapon, it can fire all of its weapons at full Ballistic Skill when moving at Combat Speed.

Q: The rules state that if a vehicle fires an Ordnance weapon, all other weapons must be fired as Snap Shots – does the firing order matter?
A: You can only fire the Ordnance weapon if all other weapons are fired as Snap Shots – the firing order doesn’t matter.

Q: Are there ever any circumstances that allow a vehicle with an Ordnance weapon the ability to fire it as Snap Shots? Say the weapon in question is not of a type (Blast or Template) that may not be fired as a Snap Shot, but another circumstance requires Snap Shots (the vehicle is under the effect of Crew Shaken or Crew Stunned). Can it fire Ordnance weapons?
A: Yes. Provided the weapon in question is not a Blast or Template weapon (or otherwise cannot be fired as Snap Shots) a vehicle can fire an Ordnance weapon as Snap Shots (such as when Crew Stunned).

Q: For the purposes of Heavy, Ordnance, and Salvo weapons, does the Slow and Purposeful special rule allow units embarked on a Transport to fire as if they remained Stationary if the vehicle moves at Cruising Speed but not Flat Out?
A: No. Units embarked on a Transport that moved at Combat Speed count as having moved that turn, units embarked on a Transport that moved at Cruising Speed can only fire Snap Shots that turn, and if a vehicle moves Flat Out its passengers cannot fire at all that turn.

Q: Can a model with an Ordnance weapon and Power of the Machine Spirit still fire another weapon at full Ballistic Skill?
A: Yes.


ASSAULT PHASE

Q: Can you charge an enemy unit if friendly models from other units make it impossible for the chargers to get into base contact with the enemy?
A: No.

Q: What constitutes an attacker and target in regard to the To Hit chart?
A: The model you are making the To Hit roll for is the attacker.

Q: If you make a disordered charge against a vehicle and a non-vehicle unit, which close combat rules count for things like Sweeping Advances, Pile-ins or Consolidation moves?
A: Those that apply to the primary target of the charge.

Q: If a unit becomes disengaged in the Shooting phase (e.g. from a Flyer crashing and killing the enemy it was locked in combat with, or a Blast weapon scattering onto and killing the enemy), is it able to assault in the following Assault phase?
A: Yes.

Q: If a unit is locked in combat, and is completely destroyed by a scattering blast template, does the unit left standing from that combat get a Consolidate move?
A: No.  

Q: If a unit ‘must declare a charge against unit if <insert prerequisite>’, is the rule ignored if they are unable to declare the charge (entered from Reserves, Infiltrated, no line of sight to the target, etc.)?
A: Yes.

Q: An enemy unit is engaged in combat with one of your units. You want to charge an enemy unit with another of your units, but they’re behind the one already locked in combat. Do they have to move around in order to get into base contact?
A: Yes.

Q: How do you allocate wounds in close combat, where it can be difficult to tell which model is closest? Is it possible to specifically allocate wounds to an enemy character not in a challenge, and would they get ‘Look Out, Sir’ tests?
A: You must determine which models are the closest before allocating wounds – if it is impossible to tell, they are considered equally close, and the player controlling the models being attacked decides. This means that only the player controlling a character could choose to allocate wounds to them. If they did so, the ‘Look Out, Sir’ rules would apply.

Q: One of your units is about to charge. As per the rules, you would measure the distance of the closest models in both squads, say 7″, and there is nothing in the way of moving the first model into base contact, but a different model must move through a forest. Do you need to roll a 9, or is it still a 7?
A: You must subtract 2 from the unit’s charge roll if any models in the unit have to move through difficult terrain.


OVERWATCH

Q: How many shooting attacks can I do when firing Overwatch?
A: As many as the model can fire in the Shooting phase.

Q: Are units that are Falling Back allowed to Overwatch if a charge is declared against them?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a flamer firing Overwatch have a maximum range?
A: No.

Q: How many shots do Salvo weapons get when firing Snap Shots in Overwatch, if the unit moved in their previous player turn?
A: When determining if the unit moved for the purposes of firing Salvo weapons, only the previous Movement phase is considered. In the case of firing Overwatch, this will have been your opponent’s Movement phase, and therefore the unit firing Overwatch is very unlikely to have moved. As a consequence, it counts as having not moved, and can fire the higher number of shots with its weapons that have the Salvo type.

Q: Do abilities that allow a model to fire an extra weapon in the Shooting phase allow them to fire an extra weapon in Overwatch or while intercepting (e.g. Monstrous Creatures and Tau multi-trackers)?
A: Yes. In the case of Interceptor, only weapons with the Interceptor rule can be fired.

Q: How does Overwatch work when a unit is assaulted by multiple enemy units in the same turn? Can the assaulted unit choose against which one it fires or does it have to fire against the first unit to declare a charge?
A: You can choose not to fire Overwatch against units that declare a charge against your unit, but you must do so as each charge is declared – you can’t wait until all charges are declared before deciding which unit(s) to fire Overwatch against. Obviously, if you’re successfully charged by one of your opponent’s units, you can’t fire Overwatch against subsequent chargers as you’re locked in combat.


UNIT TYPES

Q: Do Jump units ignore height distances when charging and using jump packs? If a Jump unit uses its jump pack for the Assault phase, does it jump over difficult terrain?
A: No – measure the distance between the bases of the models, ignoring any intervening terrain.

Q: Does vertical movement count towards the maximum movement distance on jump pack and jet pack moves?
A: Yes, but not in the same way as for Infantry – the important distance is between the base at the starting position and ending position of the model, i.e. any intervening models or terrain will not add to the movement distance.

Q: Does a model with a jump pack or jet pack who leaves combat using the Hit & Run special rule do so using his jet/jump pack or moving as an Infantry unit?
A: They use their jump/jet pack.

Q: Are Beasts and Cavalry reduced to Initiative 1 when charging through difficult terrain?
A: Yes.

Q: Can you clarify the wording around a rider shooting from a Chariot? As written, it appears to allow an Exalted Flamer to fire both weapons from a Burning Chariot while they can only fire one while on foot.
A: A rider can shoot ‘any ranged weapon’ (that is, any single weapon) they are equipped with – counting as stationary even if the Chariot moved in the previous Movement phase – alongside the Chariot’s weapons, though the Chariot and rider must target the same unit. In the specific example, the Burning Chariot itself has no weapons – the Daemonic Gifts are marked as belonging to the ‘Exalted Flamer only’ – and therefore the Exalted Flamer can use either the Blue Fire of Tzeentch or the Pink Fire of Tzeentch.

Q: Can a Jet Pack unit that has joined a different unit (e.g. a Necron Destroyer Lord joining Canoptek Wraiths) still use its jet pack move in the Assault phase?
A: Yes, but the model cannot leave its unit and must stay in unit coherency.

Q: When the rules state that all models in a unit must use the same movement type, does that restrict Independent Characters with the Bike unit type joining Jump or Jetbike units, for example?
A: Sometimes a unit will contain models that move at different speeds. When this is the case, each model can move up to its maximum movement allowance so long as it remains in unit coherency.

Q: How does a unit consisting of a mix of Cavalry, Bike, Jump Pack and Infantry models move, Run, Turbo-boost and charge? Do they all use their respective rules while maintaining squad coherency?
A: Yes. Models move individually, so in the Movement phase each model in this unit can move up to their maximum movement allowance so long as the unit is in unit coherency at the end of the move. If the unit elects to Run, no models in the unit may shoot. The unit doesn’t benefit from the Cavalry model’s Fleet rule, as that only applies if every model in the unit has the Fleet rule. If the unit Runs, the Bike may Turbo-boost, but must finish its move in unit coherency. When charging, the Jump model may use its jump pack (if it did not do so in the Movement phase) to re-roll the charge distance – however that model, and only that model, must use the new distance rolled.


ARTILLERY

Q: When firing at artillery units, does the gun’s Toughness value apply for the purposes of resolving Instant Death against any Independent Characters that have joined the unit?
A: No, Instant Death is worked out each time a Wound is allocated to an individual model.

Q: Regarding batteries and out-of-range weapons – if 2 out of 3 weapons from an artillery battery are in range and the 3rd is out of range, do you just allocate 2 blast templates (the 3rd being unable to shoot)?
A: Yes.


MONSTROUS & GARGANTUAN CREATURES

Q: How does a Flying Monstrous Creature’s Hard to Hit rule work when part of a unit without the rule?
A: It cannot be used.

Q: How does a Gargantuan Creature move through difficult terrain? A previous official FAQ clarified that a Super-heavy Walker rolls 2D6 and doubles the highest result, but said nothing about Gargantuan Creatures.
A: Roll 3D6 (due to the Move Through Cover special rule) and double the highest result.

Q: Can Gargantuan Creatures shoot all of their weapons at different targets, or can they only shoot two different weapons at two different targets?
A: They can shoot all of their weapons, at different targets if desired.

Q: Do Monstrous Creatures fire Overwatch with one weapon or up to two (they can use up to two during each Shooting phase)?
A: Up to two.

Q: If there are no models left in close combat with a Super-heavy Walker or Gargantuan Creature at the Initiative 1 step, can it still make a Stomp attack?
A: No.

Q: Do Gargantuan Creatures/Super-heavy vehicles need to declare all of the targets for all of their weapons before resolving any of the shooting attacks?
A: Yes.

Q: If a Monstrous Creature is also an Independent Character, can it join other units? Can other Independent Characters then join the unit that the Monstrous Creature is now a part of?
A: No, to both question.

Q: Do Blast weapons hit Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures?
A: No.

Q: Can a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature or Zooming Flyer be targeted by a Blast or Template weapon with the Skyfire special rule?
A: No.

Q: Can Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures be hit by nova and beam powers?
A: Yes for nova powers, no for beam powers.

Q: Does Jinking prevent a Flying Monstrous Creature from Vector Striking?
A: No.

Q: Can a Monstrous Creature charge multiple units?
A: No

Q: Can Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures be hit with Blast or Template attacks that don’t target them, such as scattered Blasts and vehicle explosions?
A: No.

Q: After my Flying Monstrous Creature is Grounded, when I choose to use the Swooping flight mode again the next turn, can I change his forward-facing direction, or is it still stuck in the direction it was Swooping in before it hit the ground?
A: It is still stuck facing in the direction it was Swooping in when it struck the ground.

Q: Do Flying Monstrous Creatures have the Deep Strike special rule?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a Gargantuan Creature gain the benefit of Strikedown on its shooting attacks?
A: No.

Q: Are Gargantuan Creatures Monstrous Creatures with additional rules, or are they their own creature type?
A: They are both Monstrous Creatures and Gargantuan Creatures – special rules which affect Monstrous Creatures will affect them; any units eligible to transport Monstrous Creatures cannot transport Gargantuan Creatures unless specifically stated otherwise.

Q: Are Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures scoring units?
A: No, as it’s one of the exceptions listed in the ‘Scoring Units’ section of Warhammer 40,000: The Rules.


VEHICLES

Q: Is a hull-mounted weapon’s arc of fire a total of 45° or 45° to either side? The chart seems to indicate the former, but we aren’t 100% certain.
A: Hull-mounted weapons have a total firing arc of 45°.

Q: Are models in a unit that destroyed a Walker in close combat allowed to Consolidate?
A: No.

Q: Can a vehicle that has Jinked, or which has a suffered a Crew Shaken or Crew Stunned result, use Power of the Machine Spirit to fire 1 weapon at full Ballistic Skill?
A: Yes.

Q: How can I shoot an infantry unit that stays behind a vehicle? Сan I just shoot them normally, as if the vehicle is not there, or can I not shoot them at all? Do I need to destroy the vehicle first, or is there a way to kill infantry units behind vehicles?
A: If your firing unit doesn’t have line of sight to a unit behind a vehicle, then it can’t shoot them unless your unit has weapons that do not need line of sight.

Q: In a situation where there are 4 penetrating hits on a vehicle with 3 Hull Points, are they rolled one at a time or all at once?
A: It doesn’t matter if you roll them all at once or one at a time, as long as you roll them all! You must roll on the Vehicle Damage table even if the vehicle loses sufficient Hull Points to be Wrecked, as there is still a chance that it might get an Explodes! result.

Q: I have a question about pivoting and moving a vehicle. When is the distance that a vehicle can move measured – before it pivots for the first time or after it pivots for the first time? Some vehicles may be able to gain an extra inch or two by pivoting, then measuring, then moving.
A: If a model moves, no part of the model (or its base) can finish the move more than the model’s move distance away from where it started the Movement phase.

Q: Do vehicles in the same squadron have to shoot at the same target? I noticed recently that a squadron is never referred to as a unit, just as a group of vehicles that must stay in coherence.
A: With noted exceptions, squadrons ‘are treated like normal units’ – in this specific case, Warhammer 40,000: The Rules states that ‘All of the weapons fired by a squadron of vehicles in each phase must target a single enemy unit’.


TANK SHOCK

Q: How do you resolve a Tank Shock with a squadron (e.g. does it cause multiple Morale checks)?
A: Each vehicle carries out a Tank Shock individually.

Q: How does Tank Shock work when you stop on a unit? The rules state that the models ‘must be moved out of the way by the shortest distance’ – but what does this mean? The shortest distance that allows you to be in unit coherency? Or the shortest distance to just be out from under the vehicle, with models dying if not in unit coherency and at least 1″ away from enemy units? What happens if a Gargantuan Creature or Monstrous Creature or any other non-vehicle unit gets Tank Shocked, but cannot move to another place in the shortest way? Are they destroyed or just moved further away?
A: Pick up only those models actively displaced by the Tank Shock, and place them on the battlefield with all models within unit coherency, as close as possible to their starting location and with no models within 1″ of an enemy unit. Any models that cannot be placed in this way will be removed as casualties. If the whole unit is displaced, it will be moved together as above, and because of this it is impossible to remove an entire unit from play with a Tank Shock, unless the unit is unable to move; units that have Gone to Ground return to normal immediately, as it counts as being forced to move.

Q: When determining the Strength of a vehicle’s Ram, are the Tank and Heavy bonuses cumulative?
A: No.

Q: When vehicles Ram, they may only fire Snap Shots for that turn. There is no allowance that I can find for Super-heavy Tanks and Thunderblitz does not seem to affect this part of the Ram rule. According to the rules, then, If a Baneblade Rams (with a Thunderblitz roll) a Warbuggy, the Baneblade can only fire Snap Shots. Is this intended?
A: Yes.

Q: What happens when you fail a Tank Shock or Ram when arriving from Reserve in such a way that the vehicle would end the movement partly off the battlefield?
A: Following the rules for Moving On From Reserve, place the model as far onto the table as you can.


TRANSPORTS

Q: Do passengers disembarking from an immobile vehicle such as a Drop Pod that has just arrived from Deep Strike Reserve have to take a leadership test to see if they can fire normally (or if they have to fire Snap Shots)?
A: No.

Q: If a vehicle with an invulnerable save (e.g. a Dark Eldar Venom through its Flickerfield) is hit by a Template weapon, do the models inside also benefit from it when resolving the No Escape rule?
A: No.

Q: Can models embarked inside an exploding vehicle benefit from cover saves (e.g. the Realspace Raiders Detachment who have a 5+ cover save on the first turn and any turns with Night Fighting, or models with the Stealth and/or Shrouded special rules)?
A: No.

Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport?
A: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and does not interact with anything on the battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire Points, psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this.

Q: Do non-psychic powers with an area of effect (‘aura’ powers like the Tau Ethereal’s Invocation of the Elements, or the effects of many Warlord Traits) extend from the hull of a Transport that the model with the power is embarked within?
A: No, non-psychic powers such as those described cannot be used by models embarked upon a Transport unless specifically noted otherwise.

Q: It’s not clear whether or not a unit that has destroyed a Transport can then charge the now-disembarked troops. The rule says ‘if allowed’  – does that mean as long as they haven’t fired weapons stopping them from charging, or do they need to have a special rule to be allowed to charge?
A: The unit that destroyed the Transport vehicle can charge the now-disembarked passengers so long as, for example, it hasn’t fired any weapons that prevent it from charging, it hasn’t Gone to Ground, it is within 12″, and so forth. A unit doesn’t need a special rule to allow it to do so.

Q: Do units disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport also count as entering play via Deep Strike?
A: Yes.

Q: What happens to a unit if the Transport they are in moves over 6″ and is Wrecked by your opponent in their turn?
A: If the unit passes their Pinning test, they can fire Overwatch if they are charged, so long as they were not forced to perform an emergency disembarkation. In their following turn they will act normally, though they will be unable to charge unless the vehicle transporting them had the Assault Vehicle rule. If they fail their Pinning test, the unit must Go to Ground.


FLYERS

Q: If a flyer which is forced to move 18″ forwards due to an Immobilised result ends its move over an enemy unit, does it ‘Crash and Burn!’?
A: No. Use the ‘Wobbly Model Syndrome’ rule, clearly indicating where the model’s actual position is on the table.

Q: Can a Flyer make a Bombing Run or Vector Strike on the same turn that it enters Ongoing Reserves by leaving the battlefield?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a Flyer with extra armour, when suffering an Immobilised result that is turned into a Crew Stunned result, then have that Crew Stunned result turned into Crew Shaken?
A: Yes.

Q: Flyers can fire 4 weapons at full Ballistic Skill, can they also fire any additional weapons as Snap Shots like other vehicles?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a unit that is locked in combat be chosen as the target of a Bombing Run?
A: No.

Q: Can a Flyer with the Hover (and thus Fast Skimmer) unit type be deployed on the board as a Fast Skimmer?
A: No, unless it has a rule that specifically allows it.

Q: Can you claim to have destroyed a Flyer for a Maelstrom of War Tactical Objective (e.g. Scour the Skies) if the target was in Hover mode at the time it was destroyed?
A: Yes – the model is still a Flyer, regardless of what mode it is in.


SKIMMERS

Q: Do Skimmers arriving from Deep Strike automatically get moved if they scatter on top of an enemy unit?
A: No, they suffer a Deep Strike Mishap as usual.

Q: Must the passengers of a Fast Skimmer fire Snap Shots if their Transport moved more than 6″?
A: Yes.


SUPER-HEAVY VEHICLES

Q: Can Super-heavy Walkers (e.g. Imperial Knights) disengage from combat?
A: No.

Q: Do units embarked on a Super-heavy vehicle fire Snap Shots if it moves more than 6″?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a Super-heavy Flyer that has a Hover mode Thunderblitz?
A: No.

Q: Do you have to select all targets before any dice are rolled for the weapons mounted on a Super-heavy vehicle? If that is the case, are One Use Only/One Shot Only weapons used up if a previous weapon destroyed the target that the One Use Only/One Shot Only weapon was going to shoot?
A: Yes, to both questions.

Q: Can Super-heavy Walkers Thunderblitz?
A: No.

Q: Do Super-heavy Walkers shoot at targets from where their weapon is modeled or from the base?
A: Ranges are measured from the weapon itself. Unless modelled otherwise, assume all weapons have a 45° facing from the front of the model.

Q: Are Super-heavy Walkers limited, like normal Walkers, to a 45° arc of fire from the facing of the model’s weapon?
A: Yes – they follow all the normal rules for Walkers, except when explicitly stated otherwise.

Q: Can Super-heavy Flyers Jink?
A: No.


STOMP

Q: Are cover saves allowed against Stomp attacks?
A: No.

Q: Can ‘Look Out, Sir’ attempts be made against Stomp attacks?
A: Yes, unless an Overrun result is rolled.

Q: Can you Stomp an Invisible unit?
A: Yes.

Q: When you make a Stomp attack in close combat and cause casualties outside of those in the combat, do the units outside of combat have to take Morale checks as if suffering 25% casualties, if they lose 25% or more?
A: No.

Q: Can Stomp attacks affect units which are not locked in combat with the Stomping model?
A: Yes.

Q: Can I attempt invulnerable saves or use the Eternal Warrior special rule against Stomp attacks that cause a model to be removed as a casualty?
A: No.


CHARACTERS

Q: Can you attempt ‘Look Out, Sir’ for Perils of the Warp, failed Dangerous Terrain tests, failed Gets Hot rolls, and so on?
A: In the case of Dangerous Terrain tests, only armour and invulnerable saves may be used. In the case of Gets Hot rolls, ‘Look Out, Sir’ is explicitly disallowed. For Perils of the Warp, and other non-explicit cases, a certain amount of common sense is required. ‘Look Out, Sir’ is intended to represent a character being physically protected by a witting or unwitting ally – you cannot hide from the Warp!

Q: The ‘Look Out, Sir’ rule states that Wounds must be allocated to the closest model in the unit to the character. What if you have multiple models that are equidistant? Do you have to allocate all ‘Look Out, Sir’ hits to a particular model until it is removed, or can you shift the Wounds to other equidistant models (assuming, of course, that they have multiple Wounds)?
A: You must apply all Wounds to the same model until it is removed, or until another model is closer to the character for whatever reason.


TERRAIN

Q: Do the weapon options for a Vengeance Weapon Battery count as emplaced gun emplacements or just emplaced guns?
A: They are emplaced weapons, and cannot be used as gun emplacements – another model may not fire them.

Q: Can a Fortification Scout?
A: No.

Q: The coverage range of the Void Shield Generators’ void shields is 12″. If a unit is not entirely within the 12″ range, does it still benefit from the Projected Void Shield special rule?
A: No.

Q: Can Bikes, Super-heavy Walkers, Walkers, and Monstrous Creatures move and/or assault units on the higher levels of ruins?
A: Yes. For simplicity and ease of play, the core game rules allow most models to climb any piece of scenery. Use the ‘Wobbly Model Syndrome’ rule if it is not possible to place the model in the position it is meant to be occupying. If you wish, you may want to say that models are only allowed to move to places that they could reach ‘in real life’, but you will need to apply a certain amount of common sense and discretion in order to make such a rule work well..

Q: If a vehicle model fully crosses over an Aegis Defence Line using its movement or Flat Out (as opposed to beginning or ending partially on it), does the vehicle still take a dangerous terrain test?
A: Yes.

Q: Do Gauss, Melta, Haywire, and Graviton special rules affect void shields?
A: Yes – Gauss, Melta and Haywire special rules work as normal. Graviton hits cause a void shield to collapse on a roll of 6, but cannot affect void shields on buildings.

Q: Some pieces of terrain (woods, ruins, craters, etc.) provide a cover save to a models even if they are not 25% obscured. Does this really include large models like Monstrous Creatures?
A: No. Just like Vehicles, Monstrous Creatures and Gargantuan Creatures are not obscured simply for being inside terrain such as woods or ruins.

Q: If you are on top of, under, or inside terrain (such as a ruined building or crater), but an enemy unit can see your model completely, do you get a cover save from being inside, on top of, or under a terrain piece?
A: Most scenery has a rule which makes clear whether your models need to be obscured to get the cover save. You should discuss unusual scenery with your opponent before the game.

Q: Does an Aegis Defence Line have to be deployed as one continuous line?
A: Yes.

Q: When measuring special rules that use a radius whilst in a building, does the escape hatch count as part of the building?
A: No.

Q: Can an opponent assault an escape hatch – the unit can’t assault out of one but can it be assaulted as a normal Access Point?
A: No.

Q: Does a void shield intercept Psychic Shriek?
A: No.

Q: If both players have models in base contact with a gun emplacement, which player controls it?
A: They both do.

Q: A ruin (e.g. a Shrine of the Aquila) is treated as difficult terrain, but does this mean that models can move through the walls?
A: Yes.

Q: What cover save do you get behind the petals of a Skyshield Landing Pad?
A: None – the cover provided is represented by the Shielded special rule.

Q: Can the petals of a Skyshield Landing Pad be opened in a Dawn of War deployment?
A: Yes.

Q: Do all flamer weapons benefit from the Fuel Siphon special rule for the Promethium Relay Pipes? Some of them are a bit contentious.
A: All weapons that are specifically noted as being flamer weapons receive the benefit of the Promethium Pipes special rule.

Q: Does a model that benefits from a cover save benefit from a void shield as well? For example, does an infantry model sitting on top of the battlement of a Void Shield Generator benefit from the cover save before the void shield is stripped?
A: No.

ARMY LISTS

Q: How many relics/artefacts can a single model be equipped with?
A: A model can only be given a single relic or artefact unless specifically noted otherwise.

DETACHMENTS & FORMATIONS

Q: When listing Formations, sometimes it states ‘1 model’ (like 1 Tomb Spyder), while other times it lists ‘1 Unit of models’ (like 1 unit of Tomb Blades). Are these interchangeable?
A: No. The former means a single model of the type listed, while the later means a single unit of the type listed.

Q: How do special rules like Hatred affect multi-Faction armies? For example how does the Dark Angels’ Hatred (Chaos Space Marines) special rule affect Khorne Daemonkin? Does it affect all Chaos Space Marine units in the army or none at all?
A: Some common sense is required. In this specific example, here is a list of the Khorne Daemonkin units that the Deathwing hate: Chaos Lord, Daemon Prince, Chaos Cultists, Chaos Space Marines, Berzerkers, Possessed, Chaos Terminators, Chaos Spawn, Chaos Rhino, Chaos Bikers, Raptors, Warp Talons, Heldrake, Chaos Land Raider, Forgefiend, Maulerfiend, Defiler, and Helbrute.

Q: If a unit consists of more than one Faction, what Faction does the unit count as when targeted by a unit with a Preferred Enemy or Hatred ability that affects one of the Factions in that unit?
A: They count as having all the Factions of the models in the unit.

Q: In the Adeptus Mechanicus War Convocation Formation, do any fortifications benefit from the free upgrades?
A: The only fortifications that benefit from the Adeptus Mechanicus War Convocation’s rules are those taken as part of the Cult Mechanicus Battle Congregation. The Might of the Adeptus Mechanicus rule allows you free weapon and wargear options, which in most cases will not benefit fortifications – they have access to Fortification Upgrades, which are neither weapons nor wargear (this includes gun emplacements). The exceptions to this rule are weapon options on a fortification’s datasheet – for example on the Wall of Martyrs Firestorm Redoubt or Vengeance Weapon Battery. These fortifications could replace their emplaced weapons for free.

Q: If two Formations both include a model that must be your army’s Warlord, are you only able to take one of these Formations?
A: Yes.

Q: Can models that must be taken as your Warlord be taken in an Allied Detachment?
A: No.

Q: Does the Sanctuary psychic power’s 6+ invulnerable save benefit from any bonuses provided by Formations and/or Detachments (e.g. the Imperial Knights Exalted Court’s Council of Lords)?
A: No.

Q: Can I have an Unbound army comprising nothing but buildings?
A: No.

Q: Can units that are created from a Formation rule (e.g. Skyblight Swarm’s Skyswarm) Deep Strike?
A: No, only specifically stated otherwise.

Q: Can an Unbound army use Dedicated Transports that are from a different codex? For example, could a Space Marine Tactical Squad take an Astra Militarum Chimera as its Dedicated Transport?
A: No.

Q: Can I upgrade an HQ choice to a Unique character in a specific Formation? For example, The ‘Emperor’s Fist’ Armoured Company Formation mentions you must take a Tank Commander; can that Tank Commander be upgraded to Knight Commander Pask?
A: No.

Q: Can a Detachment include Core, Command and Auxiliary Detachment choices from other publications? For example, can a Gladius Detachment (Codex: Space Marines) include Core, Command and Auxiliary Formations from War Zone Damocles: Kauyon if the White Scars or Raven Guard are chosen for your Chapter Tactics?
A: No, unless explicitly stated otherwise.

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: No.

Q: Can units from two Detachments with the same Faction embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?
A: Yes.


MISSIONS

Q: Can a unit go back into Reserve the same player turn that it came onto the board from Reserve?
A: No, unless the rules specifically state otherwise.

Q: Can killing an Independent Character joined to another unit, without wiping out the leftover unit, result in First Blood?
A: Yes.

Q: Do the sudden death victory conditions still apply in games of Maelstrom of War?
A: Yes.

Q: Mission rules question. We were playing the Maelstrom of War: Contact Lost mission, and you generate new Tactical Objectives for each objective you control at the start of a player’s turn. If I Deep Strike a unit onto an objective at the start of my turn, does it allow me to take an extra objective card? Both Deep Striking and objectives count as happening at the same time – am I correct in thinking that I can decide the sequence?
A: No – new Tactical Objectives are generated, before any reserves are deployed.

Q: What books/codexes/supplements are the most current?
A: The copyright date (which is usually beneath the contents) will let you know which book is the most recent.

Q: Does Warhammer 40,000: The Rules (7th edition) override Codex: Stronghold Assault?
A: Yes. This is an exception to the normal rules, in which expansions override the rulebook.

Q: In a game of Carnage, can you shoot into a close combat which involves other players’ forces but none of yours?
A: No.

Q: In a game of Carnage, how many Warp Charges points do players get when it’s not their turn?
A: They all get a D6 roll plus their own psykers’ Mastery Levels.

Q: Do allies who are not Battle Bothers contest objectives?
A: Yes, they will contest objectives against the enemy – but they will never stop your units from claiming objectives, regardless of the level of alliance.

Q: In the Maelstrom of War: The Spoils of War mission, it states that ‘Secure Objective X’ cards can only be discarded when either player achieves them. The Divination power Scrier’s Gaze allows you to discard one Tactical Objective. Which takes precedence – the psychic power or the mission wording?
A: The mission wording takes precedence.

Q: If your Warlord is in Reserves, can you use their traits for re-rolling Reserves?
A: Yes.

Q: Do non-scoring and non-Victory Point units such as Spore Mines count as ‘units destroyed’ on Tactical Objective cards?
A: Yes, unless specifically stated otherwise.

Q: Since a player automatically loses at the end of any game turn in which he has no models on the table, does a player taking a Detachment that requires him to start all his models in Reserve (such as the Ravenwing Strike Force with Flyers) automatically lose every game he plays?
A: A player who takes an army that consists entirely of units and/or Detachments which must be set up in Reserve, with no special rule that allows them to arrive in the first game turn, will automatically lose the game. We do not recommend choosing an army like this!

Q: For the First Blood Victory Point – if both units kill each other off at the same Initiative step, does anyone get First Blood, or is it carried over to the next unit to be lost?
A: Both players score a point for First Blood in this case.

Q: On deployment. Online and at our club, we tend to roll for who takes which side of the table first, then roll for who will deploy first. Is this ok?
A: This is fine.

Q: Can you clarify the term ‘deploy’?
A: ‘Deploy’ is a word for setting up a unit on the battlefield – this is something you do during deployment, but also when units arrive from Reserve and so on. ‘Deployment’ is the stage in ‘Preparing For Battle’ where the players set up their armies on the battlefield.

Q: Does a unit always enter the game from Reserves when Deep Striking? The rules for Deep Striking seem to imply that being the case, even when a unit is already on the table. As an example, does a unit of Warp Talons that is using Gate of Infinity trigger its Warpflame Strike each time they use the psychic power?
A: Not unless explicitly stated – in the example you use, Gate of Infinity has the unit arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike. This doesn’t mean that it goes into Deep Strike Reserve, or that you have to make a Reserve Roll for the unit and so on, and it means that you don’t get to use the Warpflame Strike each time you do this.

Q: What points level do you suggest for a standard game?
A: Games can be of any size – the larger the game, the longer it will take. We find it best to discuss the size of game you want to play with your opponent.

Q: If a unit enters the battlefield using Outflank, are they considered to have moved for the purposes of firing heavy weapons?
A: Units moving on from Reserve do so at the start of the Movement phase, before any other units can move. This means that they are always considered to have moved in the turn they arrive.

Q: When a Tactical Objective refers to a unit being in a deployment zone, does it mean the whole unit, i.e. every single model?
A: A single model from the unit being within the deployment zone is sufficient.


SPECIAL RULES

Q: If I have both the Tank Hunters and Rending special rules, and I roll a 6 to penetrate an enemy vehicle but subsequently roll low on my additional D3 (failing to penetrate the enemy vehicle), can I choose to re-roll only the D3 or do I re-roll the original D6 and hope to get another 6?
A: Re-roll the original D6.

Q: How do special rules like Hatred, Preferred Enemy and Monster Hunter work when targeting a mixed unit that contains models your special rule effects as well as models it doesn’t?
A: The rules mentioned are used if any model in the target unit is of the appropriate type.

Q: If a Hit & Run roll would take me off the table, do I stop at the table edge?
A: Yes.

Q: The Strikedown rule states that attacks with it cause the enemy unit to move as though through difficult terrain. Does this carry over onto a Super-heavy Walker’s guns?
A: Strikedown only applies to the Super-heavy Walker’s Stomp attacks and close combat attacks.

Q: The Vortex rule states that the marker for a Vortex weapon counts as impassable terrain. As such, must any miniatures that survive the hit and are still beneath the template move away?
A: Yes. If they cannot move away in their next Movement phase, then they are destroyed. Fortifications will not be automatically destroyed, but take damage as usual.

Q: What method is used to resolve potentially conflicting special rules?
A: The rules on Sequencing from Warhammer 40,000: The Rules cover cases where two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first – the player whose turn it is chooses the order.

Q: When something states that it happens at the start of the game turn but both players have a rule that happens at the start of the game turn, how do you determine which rule is resolved first?
A: Use the Sequencing rules unless stated otherwise.

Q: Does having a bonus To Wound affect Rending?
A: No, the automatic Wounds still only apply on the roll of a 6.

Q: When a model uses a rule with a wording similar to ‘count [characteristic] as’ or ‘use the [characteristic] of model X’, do we read the characteristic as if it were in the affected model’s original profile before we apply modifiers?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a rule written like the markerlight ability ‘Seeker’ – ‘resolved at Ballistic Skill 5’ – bypass the modifier system or rules that force you to fire Snap Shots?
A: No.

Q: When a model has Furious Charge as well as a power fist, does the 2x Strength modification happen before the +1 Strength modification?
A: Yes.

Q: Does Move Through Cover allow units to strike at their normal Initiative?
A: No.

Q: Does a shooting attack without the Rending special rule still count as Rending when the model firing has the Rending special rule?
A: No. If a model has the Rending special rule only their close combat attacks benefit from this rule, not their shooting attacks.


BLAST MARKERS & TEMPLATES

Q: Do blast weapons, regardless of size or type, now hit all models at all height levels under the template? And if so, is intervening terrain (such as bridges or floors) ignored when determining how many hits are caused?
A: A blast marker or template affects all models underneath it, including those on different levels of a piece of scenery. (Designer’s Note: Earlier versions of this rule restricted the effect of blast markers and templates to models on ‘a single level’ of scenery. This created problems with scenery that didn’t have strictly definable ‘levels’ and we decided on this change for simplicity. In addition, we feel the rules now better reflect the explosions being three-dimensional (i.e. spherical and not circular) as well as better representing the deadliness of weapons such a flamers when used in confined spaces.)

Q: In the case of a template weapon that fires two or more times (such as the Blood Angels’ frag cannon), do they still only inflict D3 hits when firing Overwatch, or D3 hits per number of shots in the weapon profile?
A: Always D3 regardless of the weapon’s profile.

Q: Does the Preferred Enemy special rule allow you to re-roll Gets Hot rolls of 1 for blast weapons (e.g. a plasma cannon)?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a template weapon aimed at a unit at ground level but also touching a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it? Does a blast marker that drifts onto a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it?
A: No, in both cases. Template and Blast weapons that don’t roll To Hit cannot hit Flying Monstrous Creatures that are Swooping.

Q: Does the ability to re-roll 1s allow you to re-roll scatter dice?
A: No.

Q: Can you use a flamer/template weapon in Overwatch after Jinking?
A: No.

Q: Does the Multiple Barrage rule apply only to multiple weapons with the same name and Barrage rule (i.e. 3 Mortars)?
A: Yes.

Q: Twin-linked multiple barrage units. Can the drift for every shot after the first (the shots that use the drift dice but not the 2D6) be re-rolled?
A: Yes.

Q: If a unit has multiple template weapons with different names (e.g. a flamer and a heavy flamer), are To Hit rolls made, To Wound rolls made, and Wounds resolved for each named weapon before moving on to the next named weapon?
A: Yes.

Q: Regarding Barrage weapons and vehicles – how do you determine which side is hit?
A: Assume the shot is coming from the centre of the blast marker and hits the nearest side.

Q: Are alien and daemonic flame weapons like Ork burnas, Flames of Tzeentch, Baleful Torrent, etc., treated as flamer weapons for rules that interact with them?
A: Only if the entry in their codex specifically notes it is a flamer weapon as described in Warhammer 40,000: The Rules.


DESTROYER WEAPONS

Q: If a hit from a Destroyer weapon is downgraded to a glancing hit, does it inflict 1 or D3 Hull Points of damage?
A: 1.

Q: If a result of 2-5 on the Destroyer weapon attack table inflicts D3 wounds, do these carry over to the unit if they overkill the model?
A: No.

Q: If a model is hit by a Destroyer weapon and takes a Seriously Wounded result for, say, 3 Wounds, how many cover/invulnerable saves does it take?
A: 1. In your example, if the save roll was failed, the target model would suffer 3 Wounds.

Q: Do abilities that allow you to re-roll rolls To Wound, or re-roll armour penetration rolls, allow you to re-roll the results on the Destroyer weapon attack table?
A: No.

Q: Can you make ‘Look Out, Sir’ attempts against Destroyer weapon hits?
A: Yes.

Q: With Destroyer weapons that use templates, how are saves meant to be taken – before or after rolling on the Destroyer weapon attack table?
A: After.


FEEL NO PAIN

Q: How do you resolve the Helfrost rule against Feel No Pain?
A: A Feel No Pain roll can be taken as normal to avoid suffering the Wound. If this roll is failed, resolve the Helfrost rules as normal.

Q: Can Feel No Pain be taken when a rule says no saves may be taken?
A: Yes.

Q: Does an effect which improves Feel No Pain – such as the Dark Eldar spirit probe – give Feel No Pain to a model or unit which did not previously have it?
A: Only if explicitly stated, for example through the Painboy’s dok’s tools. In the case of Chronos’ spirit probe, the scope of the effect is ‘all friendly units with both the Dark Eldar Faction and the Feel No Pain special rule’.

Q: Can a model’s Feel No Pain roll ever reach 1+, and if it can, is 1 still a fail?
A: A model’s Feel No Pain roll can never be improved beyond 2+.

Q: Do Feel No Pain saves stack? For example if a Painboy (5+) took a cybork body (6+), does it have a 4+ Feel No Pain save, or do you just use the best one?
A: Feel No Pain rolls do not stack – you just use the best one (a rule will explicitly state if it improves an existing Feel No Pain roll).

Q: Does a wound negated by Feel No Pain count as saved or unsaved for the purposes of wargear that has an effect if a unit suffers an unsaved wound?
A: It counts as saved, unless specifically stated otherwise.

Q: If a model has Eternal Warrior and Feel No Pain, can he still use his Feel No Pain roll after failing an armour/invulnerable save from an Instant Death wound?
A: No.

Q: In some cases I have had vehicle units be granted Feel No Pain. How does Feel No Pain effect vehicles?
A: Feel No Pain has no effect on vehicles.


INDEPENDENT CHARACTERS

Q: Infiltrate rules state that an Independent Character without Infiltrate cannot join a squad of Infiltrators. Does this mean a squad that is actively Infiltrating or just any unit that has the Infiltrate rule? This matters for things like Outflank (granted freely by the Infiltrate rule) and Infiltrate units that have Deep Strike.
A: An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, whether they are Infiltrating, Deep Striking or Outflanking. They are free to join units as they wish after deployment.

Q: If I’m using a special Detachment, such as the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment, and add Independent Characters from Battle Brother Factions (e.g. the Librarius Conclave), can they all still benefit from the first turn deployment and come in together?
A: No, the rules for Detachments and Formations only apply to models/units that are part of the Detachment or Formation. If a Formation or Detachment must appear on a certain turn, that will preclude Independent Characters who do not have the appropriate special rule from joining that unit.

Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation special rules (e.g. the Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unit-wide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii apply to any attached Independent Characters?
A: No. The Formation special rules themselves do not apply to characters that join the Formation (unless specifically stated otherwise), although they may confer other special rules which do apply to characters that have joined units, such as Stealth or Stubborn.

Q: If I have two different Independent Character Psykers in the same unit, can both of them attempt to cast the same power in the same Psychic phase?
A: No.

Q: If two Independent Characters are locked in combat, can a third Independent Character enter combat and issue a challenge, thereby engaging rules that may impact said combat? This is in regards to the Shard of Anaris becoming Instant Death, etc.
A: Yes, unless the two Independent Characters are already fighting an ongoing challenge. If they are, the third character can make a Glorious Intervention.

Q: Can a unit ever attack a model in a challenge?
A: Yes, but only after all other enemy models in that combat have been slain.

Q: If a unit charges a single-character unit and a challenge is issued, do the non-character units still get to attack the single character?
A: Yes.

Q: If a model in a challenge that isn’t Initiative 10 gets an attack at Initiative 10 (Hammer of Wrath, mandiblasters, etc.) with which it kills the opponent, what happens when it reaches its normal Initiative?
A: It can still attack, rolling against the Weapon Skill and Toughness of the slain opponent, and allocating the excess wounds that are caused to other opponents as described in the ‘Combatant Slain’ rule.

Q: Challenges vs outside forces. When 2 units (of more than 1 model) fight, the rule is clear, however if one of the units is a single model (e.g. a character or Monstrous Creature), it isn’t.
A: You can only allocate Wounds to a model taking part in a challenge if there are no other enemy models you can allocate wounds to.

Q: If an Independent Character with Slow and Purposeful joins a unit, does that entire unit now count as being Slow and Purposeful?
A: Yes.

Q: Can an Independent Character Monstrous Creature join another Independent Character to form a unit?
A: No.


INFILTRATE & SCOUT

Q: Does a unit that is embarked in a Scout vehicle count as having made a Scout move?
A: Yes.

Q: Are models with the Infiltrate special rule allowed to not use the rule to deploy and then charge normally in the first turn?
A: Yes.

Q: If a vehicle has Infiltrate, can you embark a unit inside it before deployment and then Infiltrate it onto the battlefield inside the vehicle?
A: No.

Q: Do Scout redeployments take place before or after the player going second is given the chance to Seize the Initiative?
A: Before.

Q: Does deploying with Outflank count as moving for the purpose of shooting?
A: Yes.


JINK

Q: Do Immobilised Skimmers get Jink?
A: No.

Q: Does a unit that is embarked on a Transport that Jinks also count as having Jinked?
A: No.

Q: Are passengers in Jinking Transports forced to fire Snap Shots?
A: No.

Q: If a blast template scatters onto a Skimmer, can that Skimmer still Jink even though it was not actually targeted by the shot?
A: No.

Q: Can you Jink against Overwatch attacks?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a model Jink if it is part of a unit without that rule?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a Flyer perform a bombing run the turn after it Jinks?
A: No.

Q: Can you Jink and Go to Ground?
A: No.

Q: If my Skimmer passes its Jink cover save against a Haywire weapon, is it still affected by the Haywire special rule?
A: If you pass your cover save for a vehicle (whether or not that was a cover save granted by Jinking) against a weapon with the Haywire rule, the vehicle is not affected by the Haywire rule.


SKYFIRE & INTERCEPTOR

Q: Can a model with both Skyfire and Interceptor shoot at targets that are not Flyers with its full Ballistic Skill when they deploy from Reserve (e.g. Drop Pods)?
A: No.

Q: Can Interceptor weapons fire at a unit that disembarked from a Transport that arrived from Reserve?
A: Yes.


STEALTH & SHROUDED

Q: Does Stealth stack with Stealth? Or Shrouded with Shrouded?
A: No.

Q: Can you clear up exactly which rules stack and how when estimating cover saves? I’m thinking about Stealth, Shrouded, bonuses from cover, units, psychic powers, Venomthropes, Jink, etc.
A: All of the above rules stack with each other (for example, a model with Stealth and Shrouded gains a +3 bonus to their cover saves). The same rule does not stack with itself though (for example, a model that has the Stealth special rule from two sources still only has a +1 modifier to their cover save, and a model that is Jinking and is in cover can only benefit from one of these cover saves).


GRAVITON WEAPONS

Q: How many Hull Points does a vehicle lose when you roll 2 simultaneous sixes when using Graviton weapons?
A: It loses 3 Hull Points.

Q: How do Graviton weapons work with units with mixed armour saves?
A: Use the armour save that is in the majority within the target unit (in the case of a tie, the player whose unit is under attack can choose which is used).

Q: When rolling for the effect of Graviton or Haywire weapons, is the roll still considered an armour penetration roll?
A: No.


GRENADES

Q: Do defensive grenades remove one additional attack or all additional bonuses given by a charge (e.g. for models with Hammer of Wrath or Furious Charge)?
A: Additional bonuses are unaffected – the only penalty received by models charging a unit with any models equipped with defensive grenades is that they do not gain bonus Attacks from charging.

Q: Using grenades in the Assault phase. Can every model replace their close combat attacks with a single grenade attack or just one model in the unit? Like in the Shooting phase e.g. a unit of 5 Tau Pathfinders charge a Knight. Do 5 Pathfinders make close combat haywire grenade attacks?
A: Only one model from the unit can attack with a grenade in the Assault phase. Per Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, ‘Only one grenade (of any type) can be thrown by a unit per phase’.


INVISIBILITY

Q: If a unit has a flamer and they are charged by a model using the Invisibility psychic power, can they use the Wall of Death rule?
A: Yes.

Q: Can Template weapons target invisible units?
A: Only when using the Wall of Death rule.

Q: Is Invisibility affected by Ballistic Skill modifiers?
A: Only if the modifier states that it specifically affects Snap Shots.

Q: How does the Invisibility psychic power work in relation to nova and beam powers, and Template and Blast weapons not initially targeting the invisible unit?
A: You cannot choose to target an invisible unit with such attacks, but should models from the unit end up beneath the template, marker or line of fire, then they can be hit using the normal rules. The invisible unit would be hit if it was on the line of a beam, if it was in the range of a nova, or if a blast ended up being scattered onto it. For Template weapons, as long as you follow the rules – ensuring that the template ‘covers as many models in the target unit as possible, without touching any other friendly units’ – then if the invisible unit was also fully or partially under the template, it would be hit.


EXPANSIONS

Q: Can I use Apocalypse Formations in non-Apocalypse games?
A: No.


ERRATA

WARHAMMER 40,000: THE RULES


Page 27 – The Psychic Phase, Witchfire

Add the following sentence after the fourth sentence of the first paragraph:

‘However, some witchfire powers do not have a weapon profile (such as the Telepathy power, Psychic Shriek); where this is the case, no To Hit roll is required – the attack hits automatically.’


Page 46 – Charge Move, Moving Charging Models

Change the first bullet point to read:

‘If possible, a charging model must end its charge move in unit coherency with another model in its own unit that has already moved. If it is not possible for a charging model to move and maintain unit coherency, move it as close as possible to another model in its own unit that has already moved instead.’


Page 68 – Flying Monstrous Creatures, Deployment

Add the following sentence to the end of the paragraph:

‘If a Flying Monstrous Creature is conjured or otherwise summoned during the course of the game, as soon as it enters play, you must declare whether it is in Swooping or Gliding mode.’


Page 89 – Skimmers, Special Rules

Change this sentence to read:

‘Skimmers that are not also Heavy vehicles or are Immobilised have the Jink special rule.’


Page 96 – Super-heavy Walkers, Movement and Shooting

Replace the first sentence with the following:

‘Super-heavy Walkers can move 12″ in the Movement phase. If moving into or within difficult terrain, double the result of the highest dice roll when making a Difficult Terrain test – this is the maximum distance in inches that the model can move.’


Page 164 – Feel No Pain

Add the following sentence to the end of the final paragraph:

‘A model’s Feel No Pain roll can never be improved beyond 2+.’


Page 164 – Gets Hot, Gets Hot and Re-rolls

Replace the sentence with the following:

‘If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.’


Page 165 – Hammer of Wrath, second paragraph

Add the following sentence:

‘If a model with this special rule charges a Walker, the hit is resolved against the Front Armour Facing unless the Walker is immobilised, in which case it is resolved against the Armour Value of the facing the charging model is touching.’


Page 166 – Independent Character, Independent Characters and Infiltrate

Change this sentence to read:

‘An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, and vice versa.’


Page 167 – Infiltrate

Replace the first paragraph of rules text with the following:

‘You may choose to deploy units that contain at least one model with this special rule last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed. If both players have such units and choose to do so, the players roll-off and the winner decides who goes first, then alternate deploying these units.’

Replace the first sentence of the second paragraph of rules text with the following:

‘Units that Infiltrate in this way can be set up anywhere on the table that is more than 12″ from any enemy unit, as long as no deployed enemy unit can draw line of sight to them.’

Replace the third paragraph of rules text with the following:

‘If a unit with Infiltrate deploys inside a Dedicated Transport, the same rules apply when setting up their Transport.’


Page 169 – Precision Shots, rules text

Replace the first sentence with the following:

‘If a model with this special rule, or attacking with a weapon with this special rule, rolls a 6 To Hit with a shooting attack, that shot is a ‘Precision Shot’.’


Page 169 – Precision Strikes, rules text

Replace the first sentence with the following:

‘If a model with this special rule, or attacking with a weapon with this special rule, rolls a 6 To Hit with a melee attack, that hit is a ‘Precision Strike’.’


Page 177Stub Guns and Shotguns, Heavy Stubber

Replace the profile with the following:

Heavy stubber – Range: 36″ / S:4 / AP: 6 / Type: Heavy 3’


Get your copy of the rules here.

Share this:

Tags:

  • Latest News & Features
  • Warhammer 40,000