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DAWNBRINGERS BOOK IV:  
THE MAD KING RISES

DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY, MARCH 2024
The following commentary is intended to complement Dawnbringers 
Book IV: The Mad King Rises. It is presented as a series of questions 
and answers; the questions are based on ones that have been asked 
by players, and the answers are provided by the rules writing team 
and explain how the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries 
help provide a default setting for your games, but players should 
always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and change things 
as they see fit if they both want to do so (changes like this are usually 
referred to as ‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made, 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: If I pick a battle tactic that I fail to complete in my first turn, can 
I use the ‘Blood Queen’s Will’ ability to pick that battle tactic again 
even though the rules for battle tactics state ‘You cannot pick the same 
battle tactic more than once per battle’?
A: Yes.

Q: Can you please clarify the following scenario?  
I pick the ‘Intimidate the Invaders’ battle tactic at the start of my hero 
phase, but later replace it with ‘Reprisal’ (using the ‘Blood Queen’s 
Will’ ability). Whether or not I complete ‘Reprisal’ in the same turn 
that I replaced ‘Intimidate the Invaders’, can I pick the ‘Intimidate the 
Invaders’ battle tactic at the start of my next hero phase?
A: No, you can only pick the same battle tactic more than once using 
the ‘Blood Queen’s Will’ ability.

Q: If the replacement battle tactic I pick using the ‘Blood Queen’s Will’ 
has already been attempted earlier in the game, and that battle tactic 
requires me to pick something (e.g. a unit or a terrain feature) do I pick 
a new target(s)?
A: Yes.

ERRATA, MARCH 2024
The following errata corrects errors in Dawnbringers Book IV: The 
Mad King Rises. The errata are updated regularly; when changes are 
made, any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Page 85 – Sekhar, Serpentine Agility
Change to:
‘If the unmodified hit roll for an attack that targets this unit is 1-4, 
that attack fails and the attack sequence ends.’

Page 86 – Scions of Nulahmia
Change the introduction to:
‘When you pick the Soulblight Gravelords faction for your army, 
you can say that it will be a Scions of Nulahmia army of renown. If 
you do so, you can only include the following units in your army: 
Dire Wolves, Fell Bats and Vampire Heroes with a Wounds 
characteristic of 12 or less that do not have a subfaction keyword. 
All units in your army gain the Scions of Nulahmia keyword 
and you must use the allegiance abilities on these pages instead of 
those in Battletome: Soulblight Gravelords. You can include Sekhar 
in a Scions of Nulahmia army of renown. If you do so, that unit 
gains the Scions of Nulahmia keyword and loses the Legion of 
Blood keyword.’

Page 89 – Neferata’s Royal Echelon, Deathless Retainers
Change to:
‘Units in this regiment of renown have a ward of 6+. You can re-roll 
ward rolls of 1 for units in this regiment of renown while they include 
any Standard Bearers.’

Page 92 – The Sternieste Garrison, Deathless Retainers
‘Units in this regiment of renown have a ward of 6+. You can re-roll 
ward rolls of 1 for units in this regiment of renown while they include 
any Standard Bearers.’

Page 96 – Pitched Battle Profiles
Change the points value of the following regiments of renown:
•	 The Sorrowmourn Choir – 540 (-90)
•	 The Sternieste Garrison – 690 (+60)
•	 Neferata’s Royal Echelon – 680 (+80)
•	 Scions of the Necropolis – 840 (+90)
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