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BATTLETOME:  
SONS OF BEHEMAT

DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY,  
FEBRUARY 2024
The following commentary is intended to complement Battletome: 
Sons of Behemat. It is presented as a series of questions and answers; 
the questions are based on ones that have been asked by players, and 
the answers are provided by the rules writing team and explain how 
the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help provide a 
default setting for your games, but players should always feel free to 
discuss the rules before a game, and change things as they see fit if 
they both want to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 
‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made, 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: If I carry out the Colossal Slam monstrous rampage, does the -1 to 
hit rolls modifier for the unit carrying out that monstrous rampage 
apply even if the roll is failed? 
A: Yes.

Q: Can I complete the Fury of Titans battle tactic even if the rolls to 
determine if the effect of those monstrous rampages fail to trigger?
A: Yes. Core rules section 21.1 explains that each player can 
‘carry out’ 1 monstrous rampage with each friendly Monster. A 
monstrous rampage does not have to be successful in order for it to 
have been ‘carried out’.

Q: Can Mega-Gargant Mercenaries use the Wrath of Titans 
monstrous actions? 
A: No. These are part of the Sons of Behemat allegiance abilities, 
which Mega-Gargant Mercenaries do not benefit from.

Q: What happens if the bearer of the Club of the First Oak gains the 
ward of 5+, then heals wounds to have fewer than 25 wounds allocated 
to them?
A: The bearer no longer has a ward of 5+.

Q: Does the Big Shouts battle trait allow more than 1 other 
Mancrusher Gargant unit to receive the same command?
A: Yes. The battle trait allows you to issue the same command to any 
number of eligible Mancrusher Gargant units within range of 
the general issuing that command. 

Q: Does the Idiots with Flags battle trait add 1 to hit rolls for attacks 
that target a unit that has a model that can issue commands as if it 
were a champion?
A: No.

ERRATA, FEBRUARY 2024
The following errata correct errors in Battletome: Sons of Behemat. 
The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made, any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta. 
Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it has had a 
local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or 
other minor correction.

Page 62 – Lord and Master
Add King Brodd to the army general restrictions, as shown:
‘Taker Tribe: Your general must be a Kraken-eater or King Brodd.
Breaker Tribe: Your general must be a Gatebreaker or 
King Brodd.
Smasher Tribe: Your general must be a Beast-smasher or 
King Brodd.
Stomper Tribe: Your general must be a Warstomper or 
King Brodd.’

Page 62 – Mega-Gargant Monstrous Rampages, Beast Grapple
Change to:
‘Pick 1 enemy Monster that is not part of a unit consisting of 2 or more 
models, that is within 3" of this unit and roll a dice. On a 3+, until the 
end of the following combat phase, the strike-last effect applies to both 
that Monster and the unit carrying out this monstrous rampage.’

Page 62 – Mega-Gargant Monstrous Rampages, Colossal Slam
Add the following Designer’s Note to the rule:
‘Designer’s Note: If it is not possible to set up that Monster on the 
battlefield, return that Monster to its original position.’

Page 62 – Mega-Gargant Monstrous Rampages, Earth-shaking Roar
Replace the first sentence with:
‘Pick 1 enemy unit within 3" of this model and roll a dice. On a 3+, that 
unit cannot issue or receive commands in the following combat phase. 
In addition, if the first roll was successful and that enemy unit has a 
Wounds characteristic of 1 or 2, roll 2D6. If that roll is higher than that 
unit’s Bravery characteristic, for each point by which the roll exceeds 
the unit’s Bravery characteristic, 1 model in that unit flees. That unit’s 
commanding player decides which models flee. The effect of this 
monstrous rampage is not considered to be a battleshock test.’

Page 64 – Taker Tribe Artefacts of Power, Glowy Lantern
Change to:
‘Kraken-eater only. The bearer gains the Wizard keyword. It can 
attempt to cast 1 spell in your hero phase that summons an endless 
spell. It only knows spells that summon endless spells and cannot 
attempt to cast any other spells. In addition, double the range of 
spells cast by the bearer that summon endless spells.’

Page 83 – Core Battalions, Bosses of the Stomp
Change the battalion abilities to Unified and Magnificent instead of 
Unified or Magnificent.

Page 83 – Core Battalions, Footsloggas
Change the battalion abilities to Unified and Swift instead of Unified 
or Swift.
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