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ALWAYS FIGHTS FIRST/LAST
Designer’s Commentary

The interaction between Always Fights First/Last rules is 
a hotly discussed topic amongst certain gaming groups, 
and the clarifications added to our most recent update is as 
comprehensive as possible as a result. However, I wanted to 
give you all a brief outline of what these rules are trying to 
do and how they can be resolved in practice, as well as giving 
an example.

So what’s the rare rule all about? In a nutshell, it’s all about the 
order in which players get to select units to fight in the Fight 
phase. Normally, players alternate selecting eligible units, one 
at a time, but some rules let a unit ‘fight first’, while other rules 
mean a unit must ‘fight last’. As it is possible for several units to 
be affected by these types of rules at the same time, and for the 
same unit to be affected by both types of rules simultaneously, 
knowing when you can select such a unit to fight can be a 
bit confusing.

In practice then, it is best to think of the Fight phase as being 
made up of three separate steps, as follows:

1. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights first’ units to fight 
with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn is 
taking place.

2. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights normally’ units to 
fight with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn 
is not taking place.

3. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights last’ units to fight 
with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn is 
taking place.

A unit that ‘fights normally’ is simply one that is not being 
affected by either a ‘fights first’ rule, or a ‘fights last’ rule.  

The rare rules then clarify a few things:

1.  �If a unit has charged it is a ‘fights first’ unit that turn.
2. �A unit is a ‘fights first’ unit whether it is under the effect of 

just one, or multiple, ‘fight first’ rules.
3. �A unit is a ‘fights last’ unit whether it is under the effect of 

just one, or multiple, ‘fight last’ rules.
4. �If a unit would be both a ‘fights first’ and a ‘fights last’ unit at 

the same time, it is instead a ‘fights normally’ unit.
 
The only other thing the rare rule does is clarify which units are 
eligible to fight, and so can make use of the Counter-offensive 
Stratagem (which lets a unit ‘fight next’). In practice, using the 
above terms, you can select any ‘fights first’ or ‘fights normally’ 
unit for this Stratagem.

Below, you will find some illustrated examples of how this rare 
rule is resolved on the battlefield.
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In this example, it is the Space Marine player’s Fight phase. We 
start by dividing the combatants up into ‘fights first’, ‘fights last’ 
and ‘fights normally’ units. 

•	 �The Space Marine player has two units that have charged – 
therefore these are both ‘fights first’ units.

•	 �The Company Champion is also a ‘fights first’ unit thanks to 
its Martial Superiority ability.

•	 �The Judiciar’s Tempormortis lets the Space Marines player 
select one unit within 3" to be a ‘fights last’ unit. In this 
example, we imagine they select the Skorpekh Destroyers as 
the target of this ability.

•	 �The Necron player has one ‘fights first’ unit – the 
Skorpekh Lord.

•	 �The Silent King is not affected by any ‘fights first’ or ‘fights 
last’ rules. It is a ‘fights normally’ unit.

•	 �The Silent King’s Obeisance Generators mean all enemy 
units within Engagement Range fight last. This means the 
Bladeguard Veteran Squad are now both a ‘fights first’ and a 
‘fights last’ unit, and so become a ‘fights normally’ unit.

Then we use the above steps to resolve the sequence of the 
fights. So:

1. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights first’ units to fight 
with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn is 
taking place.

This means the Space Marine player can select to fight with 
either their Judiciar or their Company Champion, after which 

the Necron player will fight with their Skorpekh Lord (if it is 
still alive), and then the Space Marine player will fight with their 
remaining character (if it is still alive).

2. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights normally’ units to 
fight with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn 
is not taking place.

There are two ‘fights normally’ units – the Silent King and the 
Bladeguard Veteran Squad. As it is the Space Marine player’s 
turn, the Necron player now fights with the Silent King, and if 
the Space Marine player is lucky they will survive and can fight 
with the Bladeguard Veteran Squad.

3. �Players alternate selecting eligible ‘fights last’ units to fight 
with, one at a time, starting with the player whose turn is 
taking place.

There is only one ‘fights last’ unit, the Skorpekh Destroyers, 
and the Necron player can now fight with them (assuming they 
are still alive). This is also the only unit in this example that the 
Necron player cannot use the Counter-offensive Stratagem on in 
order to make them ‘fight next’.

We hope that helps resolve Fight phases involving lots of Fights 
First/Last rules.

– Robin Cruddace and the Warhammer 40,000 Rules Team
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