
WARHAMMER 40,000 – PSYCHIC AWAKENING: WAR OF THE SPIDER 1

PSYCHIC AWAKENING:  
WAR OF THE SPIDER

Indomitus Version 1.3

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often 
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or 
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence 
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these 
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add 
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be. 

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a 
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, 
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language, 
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When 
a document is revised, the version number will be incremented 
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata 
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

DESIGNER’S NOTES
WEAPON UPDATES
Several weapon profiles were updated in the 2020 edition of Codex: 
Space Marines. As a result, where those same weapons appear 
in this publication, they are updated to match. The weapon in 
question, and the updated profile for it, is found at the end of this 
document, and should be changed wherever it appears in this book.

UPDATES & ERRATA
*Page 35 – Shield Hosts
Change the first paragraph to read:
‘If your army is Battle-forged and includes any Adeptus Custodes 
Detachments, you can select which shield host each of those 
Detachments belongs to from the shield hosts listed on the 
following pages. If you do so, all Adeptus Custodes units from 
that Detachment (excluding Captain-General Trajann Valoris 
and Valerian) gain the relevant Faction keyword.’

Add the following:
‘Crusade
Each time you add an Adeptus Custodes unit to your Crusade 
force’s Order of Battle, you can choose for that unit to belong to 
one of the shield hosts listed on pages 35-37. If you do so, that 
unit gains the relevant <Shield Host> Faction keyword. 

When mustering a Crusade army:
•	 �Adeptus Custodes units cannot gain a new <Shield Host> 

Faction keyword.
•	 �If all of the Adeptus Custodes units in a Detachment belong 

to the same shield host, it gains access to the Warlord Traits, 
Stratagems and Relics of Terra rules as outlined on this page.’

Page 36 – Shield of Honour
Replace the first sentence of this Stratagem with the following:
‘Use this Stratagem in any phase when an Imperium Character 
unit (excluding Vehicle units) from your army is chosen as the 
target of an opponent model’s attacks.’

Page 38 – Ten Thousand Heroes
Add the following sentence to the end of this Stratagem:
‘If a model is given a Warlord Trait using this Stratagem, that 
model does not gain a second one if they are selected for the 
Shoulder the Mantle Stratagem during the battle.’

*Page 38 – Vengeance of the Machine Spirit
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Use this Stratagem in any phase, when an Adeptus Custodes 
Venerable Land Raider model from your army is destroyed.’

Page 38 – Ancient Artifice
Change this Stratagem to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem when an Adeptus Custodes Dreadnought 
model from your army is chosen as the target for an attack. Until 
the end of the phase, when resolving an attack made against that 
model, you can reduce any damage suffered by 1, to a minimum 
of 1 (this is not cumulative with any other rules that reduce 
the damage).’ 

*Page 44 – Prosecutors, Prosecution Protocols
Change to read:
‘Each time you select a target for a ranged weapon a model in this 
unit is making an attack with, you can ignore the Look Out, Sir 
rule if the target is a Psyker.’

*Page 52 – Vindicare Assassin, Deadshot
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time you select a target for a weapon this model is making 
an attack with, you can ignore the Look Out, Sir rule.’

*Page 76 – Creations of Bile
Add the following:
‘Crusade
Each time you add a <Legion> unit to your Crusade force’s Order 
of Battle, if Fabius Bile is in your Order of Battle, you can replace 
that unit’s <Legion> keyword with Creations of Bile.’
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FAQS
Q: Can a model with the Unstoppable Destroyer Captain-Commander 
trait make a Consolidation move while any enemy models are in base 
contact with it?
A: No. 

Q: If an enemy Psyker that is within 18" of a Sisters of Silence unit 
successfully manifests a psychic power that targets an Adeptus Custodes 
unit from my army, can I use both the Fortress of Willpower and 
Empyric Severance Stratagems to attempt to negate the effects of that 
power? If my army also includes an Adepta Sororitas Detachment, 
and the enemy Psyker is within 24" of an Adepta Sororitas unit from 
my army, could I also use the Purity of Faith Stratagem from Codex: 
Adepta Sororitas to give me a third attempt to negate the power? If so, 
how is this resolved?
A: Yes. Each Stratagem must be used subsequently. If the first 
Stratagem you use fails, you can then choose to spend Command 
points to use another, and so on.

Q: When The Emperor’s Auspice Stratagem is used, does the effect also 
prevent re-rolls that are not part of the Making Attacks sequence, such 
as the number of attacks made for a weapon that makes a random 
number of attacks?
A: No.

Q: The Vindicare Assassin’s Stealth Suit ability can subtract 2 from the 
hit roll; given that these rolls cannot be modified by more than -1 or +1, 
how does this work?
A: While hit rolls and wounds rolls cannot be modified by more than 
-1 or +1, this limit takes effect after all applicable modifiers have been 
applied, some of which may cancel each other out.

For example, if a model that is making an attack against a Vindicare 
Assassin which is in cover (thereby conferring a -2 modifier to the hit 
roll) also has a rule that applies a +1 modifier to the hit roll, then, after 
applying both of these modifiers to the roll, there would be a final 
modifier of -1.


