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WARHAMMER 40,000

PSYCHIC AWAKENING:
RITUAL OF THE DAMNED

Official Update Version 1.1

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 35 – Combat Doctrines
�Replace the Combat Doctrines ability with the following 
(note that the Devastator Doctrine, Tactical Doctrine 
and Assault Doctrine remain unchanged):
�‘If your army is Battle-forged and if every unit from 
your army has this ability (excluding Servitor and 
Unaligned units), this unit gains a bonus (see below) 
depending on which combat doctrine is active for your 
army, as follows: 

•	 �During the first battle round, the Devastator Doctrine 
is active for your army.

•	 �During the second battle round, the Tactical Doctrine 
is active for your army.

•	 �At the start of the third battle round, select either the 
Tactical Doctrine or Assault Doctrine: until the end of 
that battle round, the doctrine you selected is active 
for your army.

•	 �During the fourth and subsequent battle rounds, the 
Assault Doctrine is active for your army.

�Unless specified otherwise, this bonus is not cumulative 
with any other rules that improve the Armour 
Penetration characteristic of a weapon (e.g. the Storm of 
Fire Warlord Trait).’

Page 37, 39 and 41 – Aura of Dread
Change the sentence to read:
‘Subtract 1 from the Leadership characteristic of enemy 
units whilst they are within 6" of any units from your 
army with this ability.’

Page 51 – Duty Eternal Stratagem
Change this Stratagem to read:
�‘Use this Stratagem when a Dark Angels 
Dreadnought model from your army is chosen as the 
target for an attack. Until the end of the phase, when 
resolving an attack made against that model, you can 
reduce any damage suffered by 1, to a minimum of 1 
(this is not cumulative with any other rules that reduce 
the damage).’

Page 53 – Adaptive Strategy Stratagem
Delete this Stratagem.

Page 61 – Points Values, Named Characters
Add the following entry:

NAMED CHARACTERS
UNIT	 MODELS	 POINTS PER MODEL 
	 PER UNIT	 (Including wargear)

Master Lazarus	 1	 105

Amend the existing entry below as shown:

ELITES
UNIT	 MODELS	 POINTS PER MODEL 
	 PER UNIT	 (Excluding wargear)

Deathwing Apothecary	 1	 70

Page 63 – Points Values
Add the following entries:

RANGED WEAPONS
WEAPON		  POINTS PER WEAPON
Bolt carbine with special-issue ammunition	 4
Bolt sniper rifle	 3
Instigator bolt carbine	 5
Las fusil	 15

Page 66 – Masters of the Warp
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Psyker units with this ability gain a bonus depending 
on which of the Tides of the Warp is dominant 
(see below).’



2WARHAMMER 40,000 – PSYCHIC AWAKENING: RITUAL OF THE DAMNED

Page 69 – Duty Eternal Stratagem
Change this Stratagem to read:
�‘Use this Stratagem when a Grey Knights 
Dreadnought model from your army is chosen as the 
target for an attack. Until the end of the phase, when 
resolving an attack made against that model, you can 
reduce any damage suffered by 1, to a minimum of 1 
(this is not cumulative with any other rules that reduce 
the damage).’

Page 79 – Pythic Brazier
Change the sentence to read:
‘When a Cult of Prophecy unit within 6" of a friendly 
model with this Relic is chosen to shoot or fight with, 
you can re-roll one hit roll, one wound roll, or one 
damage roll.’

FAQs
GREY KNIGHTS
Q: Can a Warlord with the Loremaster Warlord Trait know 
psychic powers from both the Sanctic and Dominus disciplines?
A: No. When choosing to generate psychic powers 
from the Dominus discipline, a model replaces all of 
the psychic powers that they would have known from 
the Sanctic discipline with ones from the Dominus 
discipline. This includes the additional power from the 
Loremaster Warlord Trait.

Q: If a unit affected by the Powerful Adept Stratagem manifests 
the Vortex of Doom psychic power, what ranges are used?
A: The vortex will open over the nearest visible enemy 
model within 18", but the power will still only affect 
other units within 3" of that model.

THOUSAND SONS
Q: If I manifest the Warp Reality psychic power with a unit that 
has the Brotherhood of Sorcerers ability, can I use that ability to 
select one enemy unit within 9" of the terrain feature?
A: No. The Brotherhood of Sorcerers ability allows you 
to select a terrain feature within 24" of the Psyker.

Q: Can the ability from the Guided by the Whispers Warlord 
Trait be used by a model that cannot fire Overwatch due to not 
having a ranged weapon, not having line of sight or being out 
of range? 
A: Yes, unless another rule would prevent them from 
being able to fire Overwatch (such as being within 1" of 
enemy models or being under the effects of a rule that 
prevents the model from firing Overwatch).

Q: If I have a <Cult> Warlord and I use the Magister 
Stratagem to give a Thousand Sons Character from a different 
<Cult> a Warlord Trait, can I select their relevant <Cult> 
Warlord Trait?
A: Yes, as they are regarded as your Warlord for the 
purposes of that Warlord Trait.

Q: If I have a <Cult> Warlord and I use the Relics of the 
Thousand Sons Stratagem to give a Thousand Sons Character 
from a different <Cult> a Sorcerous Arcana, can I select their 
relevant <Cult> Sorcerous Arcana?

A: No, as you can only select that Sorcerous Arcana if 
your Warlord is from that <Cult>.

DARK ANGELS
Q: Does the Pennant of Remembrance replace a Deathwing 
Ancient’s Deathwing Company Banner ability? 
A: No. It is an ability the model gains in addition to the 
Deathwing Company Banner ability.


