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IMPERIUM NIHILUS: VIGILUS DEFIANT
Indomitus Version 1.1

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often 
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or 
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence 
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these 
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add 
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be. 

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a 
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, 
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language, 
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When 
a document is revised, the version number will be incremented 
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata 
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

UPDATES & ERRATA
Page 171 – Victrix Honour Guard, Abilities, Honour Guard 
of Macragge
Change to read: 
‘When a friendly Ultramarines Character model within 3" of 
this unit would lose any wounds as a result of an attack made 
against that model, this unit can attempt to intercept that attack. 
Roll one D6; on a 2+ the model does not lose those wounds and 
this unit suffers 1 mortal wound for each of those wounds. Only 
one attempt can be made to intercept each attack.’

Page 174 – Reliquary of Gathalamor
Remove this Relic from this Specialist Detachment. It is replaced 
by a Relic with the same name in Codex: Space Marines.

Page 174 – Indomitus Crusaders, Warlord Trait Grey Shield
Change the first paragraph to read:
‘Once per battle, at the start of your Movement phase, if your 
Warlord is on the battlefield, you can choose for Indomitus 
Crusader units in the same Detachment as your Warlord to gain 
an additional Chapter Tactic until the start of your next turn. 
Pick the additional Chapter Tactic from the following: Codex 
Discipline, Lightning Assault, Siege Masters, Righteous Zeal, 
Forged in Battle, Shadow Masters, The Flesh is Weak, No Matter 
the Odds (see Codex: Space Marines).’

Page 175 – Indomitus Crusaders, Stratagems
Remove the Bolt Storm, Rapid Fire, Target Sighted and Veteran 
Intercessors Stratagems from this Specialist Detachment.

Designer’s Note: Updated versions of these Stratagems can be 
found in Codex: Space Marines.

*Page 175 – Target Sighted
Change the third sentence to read:
‘Until the end of the phase, stalker bolt rifles the models in that 
unit are armed with gain the following ability: ‘Each time you 
select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the Look Out, Sir 
rule. If you roll a wound roll of 6+ for this weapon, it inflicts a 
mortal wound in addition to its normal damage.’’

Page 176 – Ultramarines Victrix Guard, Warlord Trait, Warden 
of Ultramar
Change the rules text to read:
‘Once per battle, at the start of the Fight phase, this Warlord can 
inspire his warriors. When they do, until the end of that phase 
you can re-roll wound rolls for attacks made by friendly Victrix 
Guard units whilst they are within 6" of this Warlord.’

Pages 176 – Ultramarines Victrix Guard, Relics of Ultramar
Add the following:
‘If you have created your army using the additional rules found 
in Codex Supplement: Ultramarines, you cannot select the 
Soldiers Blade and The Standard of Macragge Inviolate Relics 
from this Specialist Detachment. They are replaced with new 
Relics with the same names in Codex Supplement: Ultramarines.’

Page 178 – Imperial Fists Siegebreaker Cohort, Warlord 
Trait, Indomitable.
Change this Warlord Trait to read:
‘Friendly Imperial Fists Infantry units within 6" of your Warlord 
automatically pass Morale tests and receive the benefit to their 
saving throws for being in cover, even while they are not wholly 
on or within a terrain feature, unless your Warlord moved in 
your previous Movement phase.’ 

Page 181 – Black Templars Sword Brethren, Relics of the Eternal 
Crusader, The Holy Orb
Change the rules text to read:
The Holy Orb has the following profile:

WEAPON RANGE TYPE S AP D

The Holy Orb 6" Grenade 1 - - -

Abilities: You can only use this weapon once per battle. This 
weapon automatically hits its target (no hit rolls are made). 
When this weapon hits a target, roll one D6 for every 10 models 
in the target unit (rounding up). For each roll of 2+ that unit 
suffers D3 mortal wounds.
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contain Stratagems that enable you to gain additional Relics.

Q: Do modifications to Haarken Worldclaimer’s Attacks 
characteristic due to his Head-claimer ability last until the end of 
the battle?
A: Yes.

Q: Is a Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves or 
Deathwatch Detachment also a Space Marines Detachment?
A: No. As defined in Codex: Space Marines, a Space Marines 
Detachment is a Detachment that only includes units with one 
of the following Faction keywords: <Chapter>, Ultramarines, 
Imperial Fists, Salamanders, White Scars, Raven Guard, Iron 
Hands, Crimson Fists or Black Templars.

Q: If a unit makes a shooting attack outside of the Shooting 
phase (such as a Soulburst action in the Fight phase) against 
a Liberator Strike Force unit, can it retaliate with the 
Paragons of Dorn Stratagem?
A: No.

Q: If High Marshal Helbrecht is part of a Sword Brethren 
Specialist Detachment, can he have the Master Swordsman 
Warlord Trait from that Detachment?
A: No. High Marshal Helbrecht must always have the 
Oathkeeper Warlord Trait as detailed in Codex: Space Marines.

Q: Is the Vengeful Arbiter a bolt weapon, for rules that interact 
with such weapons (e.g. the Bolter Drill Stratagem)?
A: Yes.

Q: What are the differences between the Stalker Pack’s Saga of the 
Savage and the Saga of the Wolfkin?
A: The Saga of the Savage has a Deed of Legend that is slightly 
easier to achieve, but its effects only work when an affected 
model has made a charge move, while the Saga of the Wolfkin 
works not only when an affected unit makes a charge move, but 
also when it is charged or performs a Heroic Intervention. 

Q: How does the Stalker Pack’s Blood Scent Stratagem work 
against Ork units that have used the Mob Up Stratagem? Is the 
number of models in the unit when it is merged considered to be 
the unit’s initial size, or are prior casualties from either of the 
original units enough to allow the use of this Stratagem?
A: If either of the units that were combined with the Mob Up 
Stratagem had suffered casualties before the Stratagem was used, 
the merged unit counts as having suffered casualties for the 
purposes of this Stratagem.

Q: Is the Master of Biosplicing Warlord Trait from the Servitor 
Maniple Specialist Detachment treated as an ability that repairs 
a friendly Adeptus Mechanicus model for the purposes of the 
Autocaduceus of Arkhan Land Relic? 
A: Yes. 

Q: If a Tech-Priest Dominus takes the Doctrina Foreas Servo-
Skull, what D6 roll is required to change the battle protocols of 
Kastelan Robots?
A: 2+.

Q: When using the Anointed Throng’s Devotion Till Death 
Stratagem, can a model slain in this manner pile in and fight even 

*Page 182 – Swiftstrike
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase after an Attack Squadron 
unit (excluding Aircraft) from your army has fought.’

Page 183 – Space Wolves Stalker Pack, Warlord Trait, Saga of 
the Savage
Change the first paragraph to read:
‘Add 1 to the Attacks characteristics all models in a unit affected 
by this saga if it made a charge move in the same turn.’

Page 188 – Windrider Host, Specialist Detachment, 
Windrider Host
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Pick a Craftworlds Detachment from your army (other than a 
Detachment that includes any Ynnari units) to be a Windrider 
Host Specialist Detachment.’

Page 189 – Wraith Host, Specialist Detachment, Wraith Host
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Pick a Craftworlds Detachment from your army (other than a 
Detachment that includes any Ynnari units) to be a Wraith Host 
Specialist Detachment.’

*Page 199 – Da Souped Up Shokka
Change the first sentence of this weapon’s ability to read:
‘Each time this unit is chosen to shoot with, roll once to 
determine the Strength characteristic of this weapon.’

FAQs
Q: Does the Rise from the Shadows campaign rule affect hit rolls 
made for Overwatch?
A: No.

Q: Does the Deadly Contagion campaign rule affect Infantry 
units that start the game embarked aboard Transports?
A: No.

Q: In the Crucible of War: Convoy mission, how does the Signal 
Flare Stratagem work in the following example: a unit with 9 
bolters and a missile launcher fires its missile launcher at a target 
and scores a hit – if the Stratagem is then used, can I re-roll hit 
rolls of 1 for the attacks made with the bolters?
A: Attacks can be made one at a time, as per the core rules. Once 
the first model has hit the target, you can play the Stratagem and 
re-roll hit rolls of 1 for all remaining attacks made by that unit 
(and other units) that target that same enemy unit in that phase.

Q: In the Crucible of War: Hold Your Gains mission, does a 
unit count as moving for the purposes of the Dug-in Defences 
Stratagem if it redeploys via a rule such as the Craftworlds 
Phantasm Stratagem?
A: Yes.

Q: When paying Command Points to upgrade a Detachment 
into a Specialist Detachment, is the Relic they are able to give to 
a Character in addition to the Relic they would typically get 
from their Warlord’s faction?
A: No. The Relic(s) listed within a Specialist Detachment can 
be given to a Character from your army instead of one from 
your Warlord’s codex. Don’t forget, however, that many codexes 
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if this move would take the model out of coherency?
A: No. It must end its pile-in move closer to the nearest enemy 
model, but if this would take it out of unit coherency, the move 
cannot be made.

Q: What is the Armour Penetration characteristic of an attack 
made with a shuriken weapon by a Windrider Host Farseer 
Skyrunner model if the wound roll is a 6+ and it is being 
affected by the Tempest of Blades Stratagem?
A: -4.

Q: If a unit of Wraithblades is targeted by the Psytronome of 
Iyanden relic and the Wrath of the Dead Stratagem, what is their 
Attacks characteristic that phase?
A: 5. When modifying characteristics you always apply any 
multiplication or division (rounding fractions up) before 
applying any addition or subtraction. 

Q: Can an Emperor’s Fist unit that Advanced use the Unyielding 
Advance Stratagem to shoot its turret weapon twice?
A: Yes.

Q: Does the Hammer of Sunderance Relic count as a turret 
weapon for the purposes of Grinding Advance?
A: Yes.

Q: For the purposes of the Tempestus Drop Force Specialist 
Detachment, what is a Militarum Tempestus Detachment?
A: A Militarum Tempestus Detachment is an Astra Militarum 
Detachment that has the Storm Troopers Regimental Doctrine.

Q: Are Killa Kans able to use the Dread Waaagh!, Kustom 
Ammo or Mek Connections Stratagems, despite having the 
Gretchin keyword?
A: Yes. 

Q: Can a Bad Moons Big Mek in a Dread Waaagh! 
Detachment use both the Showin’ Off Stratagem and the Kustom 
Ammo Stratagem to fire three times in a single Shooting phase?
A: No. Both Stratagems only allow the unit to fire two times in 
the phase.


