WARHAMMER 40,000
CODEX: DEATHWATCH

Official Update Version 1.5

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. l.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

ERRATA

All datasheets (excluding SERVITORS)

Add the following ability:

‘Shock Assault: If this unit makes a charge move, is
charged or performs a Heroic Intervention, add 1 to the
Attacks characteristic of models in this unit until the
end of the turn.

Page 64 — Special Issue Ammunition

Change the first paragraph of this ability to read:
‘When this unit fires any ranged weapons from the
following list, you can choose for it to fire special
ammunition. If you do so, the Bolter Discipline ability
does not apply when resolving their shots, but you
instead choose one kind of ammunition from the table
to the right and apply the corresponding modifier.

Designers Note: Note that the normal rules for Rapid Fire
weapons, as described in the Warhammer 40,000 core rules,
continue to apply when shooting a Rapid Fire weapon with
special issue ammunition.

Page 67 — Watch Captain in Terminator Armour,

Wargear Options

Change the first bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace its storm bolter with a
lightning claw, storm shield, thunder hammer or one
item from the Terminator Combi-weapons list.

Change the second bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace its relic blade with a lightning
claw, storm shield or one item from the Terminator
Melee Weapons list.

Page 68 and 89 — Primaris Watch Captain and Armoury
of the Deathwatch, master-crafted auto bolt rifle
Change Type characteristic to Assault 3.

Page 68 and 90 — Primaris Watch Captain and Armoury
of the Deathwatch, master-crafted stalker bolt rifle
Change Damage characteristic to 3.

Pages 68 and 70 — Librarian and Chaplain,

Wargear Options

Change the first bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace its bolt pistol with a boltgun
or one weapon from either the Pistols or Terminator
Combi-weapons list.

Page 72 — Veterans

Replace the Mixed Units ability with the following:
‘Mixed Unit: A unit of Veterans can contain models with
different Toughness characteristics. If this is the case,
use the Toughness characteristic of the majority of the
models in the unit when the enemy makes wound rolls
against it. If there is no majority, the Deathwatch player
can choose which of the values is used. For the purposes
of the Bolter Discipline ability and for determining what
models a vehicle can transport, Terminators have the
TERMINATOR keyword, Bikers do not have the INFANTRY
keyword and instead have the BIKER keyword, and
Vanguard Veterans have the Jump PACk keyword.

For the purposes of setting up on or moving through
Battlefield Terrain, this unit is treated as an INFANTRY
unit, even if it contains any BIKER models.’

Designer’s Note: This is a slight abstraction which means
that a Biker model in a Veterans unit behaves slightly differently
to other Biker models in other units (for example, they can end
a move on the wpper floors of a ruin), but it helps to minimise
unusual and complicated effects that could come about from
Jforcing one model from a unit to move and benefit from cover in
a different way to other models from the same unit.

Page 72 — Veterans, Wargear Options

Change the second bullet point to read:

‘Up to 4 Veterans may replace their boltgun with an item
from the Heavy Weapons list. If they do so, those models
cannot be given any other wargear options from this
wargear options list.’

Change the third bullet point to read:

‘Any Veteran may replace their boltgun with a heavy
thunder hammer (pg 91). If they do so, that model
cannot be given any other wargear options from this
wargear options list.’
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Page 72 — Veterans, Vanguard Strike

Change the first sentence of this ability to read:

‘During the Movement phase, Vanguard Veterans

can move across models as if they were not there, and
when moving across terrain features, vertical distance

is not counted against the total these models can

move (i.e. moving vertically is free for these models

in the Movement phase). During the Charge phase,
Vanguard Veterans can move across models (other than
BUILDINGS) as if they were not there.

Pages 73, 77 and 91 - Intercessors, Reivers and Armoury
of the Deathwatch, Grapnel Launchers

Change the first sentence to read:

‘When models with grapnel launchers move in the
Movement phase, do not count any vertical distance

they move against the total they can move (i.e.

moving vertically is free for these models in the
Movement phase).’

Page 73 — Intercessors, Aggressor
Change Wounds characteristic to 3.
Change Attacks characteristic to 3.

Page 73 — Intercessors, Inceptor
Change Wounds characteristic to 3.

Page 73 — Intercessors, Fire Storm

Change this ability to read:

‘When this unit fires Overwatch or is chosen to shoot
with, Aggressor models in this unit can shoot twice if
this unit did not move this turn.’

Page 73 — Intercessors, Terror Troops

Change this ability to read:

‘Whilst any REIVER units or units that contain any
Reiver models from your army are within 3" of

any enemy units, subtract 1 from the Leadership
characteristic of each of those enemy units for each
REIVER unit or unit that contains any Reiver models
from your army that is within 3" of that enemy unit (to a
maximum of -3).

Page 73 — Intercessors, Wargear Options

Change the second and third bullet points to read:

‘e For every five Intercessors and/or Intercessor
Sergeants, one may take an auxiliary
grenade launcher.’

® The Intercessor Sergeant may either replace their bolt
rifle with a chainsword, power sword or power fist (pg
91) or take a chainsword, power sword or power fist in
addition to their other weapons.’

Designer’s Note: This errata reflects the updated datasheet
changes found in Chapter Approved 2018.

Page 73 — Intercessors, Inceptor Strike

Change the first sentence of this ability to read:

‘During the Movement phase, Inceptors can move across
models as if they were not there, and when moving across
terrain features, vertical distance is not counted against
the total these models can move (i.e. moving vertically is

free for these models in the Movement phase). During
the Charge phase, Inceptors can move across models
(other than BUILDINGS) as if they were not there.

Page 75, 86 and 89 — Redemptor Dreadnought, Repulsor
and Armoury of the Deathwatch, Icarus rocket pod
Change Damage characteristic to 2.

Page 77 — Reivers, Terror Troops

Change this ability to read:

‘Whilst any REIVER units or units that contain any
Reiver models from your army are within 3" of

any enemy units, subtract 1 from the Leadership
characteristic of each of those enemy units for each
REIVER unit or unit that contains any Reiver models
from your army that is within 3" of that enemy unit (to a
maximum of -3).

Page 78 — Aggressors, Aggressor and Aggressor Sergeant
Change Wounds characteristic to 3.

Change Attacks characteristic to 3 (Aggressor) and 4
(Aggressor Sergeant).

Page 78 — Aggressors, Fire Storm

Change this ability to read:

‘When this unit fires Overwatch or is chosen to shoot
with, models in this unit can shoot twice if this unit did
not move this turn.’

Page 80 — Inceptors, Inceptor and Inceptor Sergeant
Change Wounds characteristic to 3.

Page 84 and 89 — Land Raider Redeemer and Armoury of
the Deathwatch, flamestorm cannon
Change Range characteristic to 12".

Page 85 — Drop Pod, Drop Pod Assault

Add the following to this ability:

‘Matched Play: This model and any units embarked aboard it
are exempt from the Tactical Reserves matched play rule, except
that if it and any units embarked aboard it have not arrived on
the battlefield by the end of the third battle round, they count as
having been destroyed.’

Page 87 — Corvus Blackstar, Infernum halo-launcher
Change the ability text to read:

‘If an enemy unit that can FLY targets a supersonic model
with an infernum halo-launcher in the Shooting phase,
your opponent must subtract 1 from the subsequent

hit rolls.’

Page 88 — Armoury of the Deathwatch, auto bolt rifle
Change Type characteristic to Assault 3.

Page 89 — Hand Flamer
Change this weapon’s type to read ‘Pistol D6’.

Page 90 — Armoury of the Deathwatch, stalker bolt rifle
Change Damage characteristic to 2.
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Page 96 — Targeting Scramblers

Change the rules text of this Stratagem to read:

‘Use this Stratagem after an enemy T°Au EMPIRE unit
that is equipped with one or more markerlights has
resolved all attacks in the Shooting phase. Select one
DEATHWATCH unit from your army and immediately
remove all markerlight counters from that unit.’

Page 103 — Points Values, Other Wargear
Delete the ‘Blackstar cluster launcher’ row.

FAQs

Q. Is a Deathwatch Biker’s Deathwatch Teleport Homer marker
treated as a unit from the player’s army?

A: No.

Q: How do Dragonfire bolts behave when shooting units that
aren’t in cover, but have a rule that means they have ‘the benefit
of cover’ (e.g. Jormungandr units with the Tunnel Networks
ability)? Would you still add 1 to the hit rolls for Dragonfire bolts?
A: No. You add 1 to the hit rolls against units that are in
cover (i.e. entirely on or within a terrain feature). Units
receiving the benefit of cover while not being in cover do
not count.

Q: How does the xenophase blade interact with invulnerable
saves that don’t allow saves to be re-rolled (e.g. from an

Archon’s Shadowfield ability, or the Chaos Daemons’ Warp

Surge Stratagem)?

A: In such cases, the successful invulnerable saves must be
re-rolled. The intent of the wording of Shadowfield and
Warp Surge is to prevent a re-roll of an unsuccessful save,
not to prevent an obligatory re-roll of a successful one.

Q: If I use the Castellan of the Black Vault Warlord Trait

on a weapon with multiple profiles, like a combi-weapon or
guardian spear, does the additional damage apply to all of that
weapon’s profiles?

A: Yes.

Q: Can a Walch Captain replace his chainsword and master-
crafted boltgun with a storm bolter and another chainsword,

and then replace his ‘new’ chainsword with either a rvelic blade or
xenophase blade?

A:Yes, because these wargear options are two separate
bullet points (you cannot choose the same bullet-pointed
wargear option for a unit more than once, however).

Q: In a unit with a mixture of different model types, if not every
model has a certain keyword, such as PHOBOS or MARK X
GRAVIS, is that unit considered to be a unit with that keyword?
A: No. A DEATHWATCH unit is only considered to have
that keyword if every model in the unit has that keyword.
If an ability asks you to pick a model (rather than a unit)
with a specific keyword, a model with the appropriate
keyword in a mixed unit can still be picked.
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Q: When a unit with the And They Shall Know No Fear ability
takes a Morale lest, is the number that is added to the dice roll
Jfor the number of models destroyed in that unit for that turn
considered to be a modifier (for the purposes of applying re-rolls
before modifiers)?

A: No, the number added is not considered to be

a modifier.

Q: When an AELDARI unit that can FLY s ‘sel up’ on the
battlefield as reinforcements (for example, from “The Webway’)
within 12" of a DEATHWATCH unit from your army, can that
Deathwatch unit use both the Intercepting Volley and Auspex
Scan Stratagems to effectively shoot that unit twice?

A:Yes. A unit that arrives as reinforcements is treated as
having moved for all rules purposes.

Q: Can I use the Tome of Ectoclades to effectively give the Mission
Tactics ability to a DEATHWATCH unit that would not otherwise
hawve it (either because that unit is not part of a DEATHWATCH
Detachment or because it is not an INFANTRY, BIKER or
DREADNOUGHT unit)?

A:Yes.

Q: If I use the Hellfire Shells or Flakk Missile Stratagem and I
hit, do I continue to roll to wound and do damage normally in
addition to doing mortal wounds?

A: No, the normal attack sequence ends.

Q: Which part of a Drop Pod should I measure distances from
and to, especially if the model has been assembled so its doors can
be opened or closed?

A: Measure all distances to and from any part of the
model, including its doors. If this model has been
assembled such that you can lower and raise its doors,
then when this model is first set up in the battlefield
choose whether the doors will be lowered or raised —

you cannot raise or lower the doors thereafter during

the battle.

Designer’s Note: Choosing to set this model up in the ‘raised
doors position’ simply represents the doors closing the instant after
ils passengers have disembarked.



