CODEX: CHAOS SPACE MARINES

Indomitus Version 1.0

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be.

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a,
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language,
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When

a document is revised, the version number will be incremented
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

Please note that the updates and errata at the beginning of this
document refer to the second edition of Codex: Chaos Space
Marines. Updates and errata to the first edition of this Codex
can be found at the end of this document. The FAQ section is
applicable to both editions of the Codex.

UPDATES & ERRATA

All HEreTic ASTARTES and FALLEN datasheets (excluding
CHAOS CULTISTS)

Add the following ability:

‘Hateful Assault: If this unit makes a charge move, is charged
or performs a Heroic Intervention, add 1 to the Attacks
characteristic of models in this unit until the end of the turn.

*Page 122 — Kharn the Betrayer, Abilities, The Betrayer

Change to read:

“You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for Kharn the
Betrayer in the Fight phase. Instead, those attacks automatically
hit another friendly unit within Engagement Range of Kharn.
Randomly determine which unit is hit if there is more than one.
If there are no other friendly units within Engagement Range of
KhaArn, the hits are discarded.’

Page 143 — Noise Marines, Abilities, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:

‘Do not remove the slain model yet — after the attacking unit has
finished making all its attacks, the slain model can shoot with
one of its ranged weapons as if it were your Shooting phase.’

Page 147 - Obliterators, fleshmetal guns

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal guns, roll
three D3, one after the other, to determine the characteristics of
the unit’s fleshmetal guns when resolving those attacks.’

*Page 148 and 156 — Chaos Vindicator and Ranged Weapons
list, demolisher cannon
Change Type characteristic to Heavy D6 and Abilities to ‘Blast’.

*Page 149 - Chaos Land Raider, Abilities, Daemonic
Machine Spirit
Delete this ability.

Page 162 - Chaos Space Marine Units

Add the following at the end of the first paragraph:

‘FABIUS BILE can be included in a Detachment without
preventing it from being a Chaos Space Marine Detachment.

Page 163 - Legion Traits, rules text

Change the first sentence to read:

‘If your army is Battle-forged, all CHARACTER, INFANTRY, BIKER
and HELBRUTE units in Chaos Space Marine Detachments gain
a Legion Trait, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from
the same Legion.’

*Page 164 - Stratagems, Chaos Boon, Spawndom

Change the third sentence to the following:

‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the character
and not within Engagement Range of any enemy units before
removing them as a casualty.’

Page 166 — Stratagems, Forward Operatives

Change to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set up an
ALPHA LEGION INFANTRY unit from your army. At the start of the
first battle round but before the first turn begins, you can move
that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move within 9" of any
enemy models. If both players have units that can move before
the first turn begins, the player who is taking the first turn
moves their units first. Each unit can only be selected for this
Stratagem once per battle.’

*Page 168 — Warptime

Change the second sentence to read:

‘If manifested, pick a HERETIC ASTARTES unit (excluding AIRCRAFT)
within 3" of the psyker.

*Page 168 — Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos, rules text
Change the third sentence to read:

‘If a CHARACTER is destroyed by this power, you can add a Chaos
Spawn to your army within 6" of the character and not within
Engagement Range of any enemy units before they are removed
as a casualty.
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Page 170 - Artefacts of Chaos, The Black Mace

Change the first and second sentence to read:

‘Model with power maul or accursed crozius only. The Black Mace
replaces the bearer’s power maul or accursed crozius and has the
following profile’

Page 171 - Artefacts of Chaos, The Cursed Crozius

Change the first and second sentence to read:

‘WoRrDp BEARERS model with power maul or accursed crozius only.
The Cursed Crozius replaces the bearer’s power maul or accursed
crozius and has the following profile:’

Page 173 - Legion Warlord Traits, Word Bearers: The Voice

of Lorgar

Change the rule to read:

‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g. Lord of
Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of any Prayers to the
Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord by 3"’

FAQs

Q. Does a Dark Apostle have to be on the battlefield to chant
a prayer?

A: Yes.

Q. When should I roll to determine the characteristics of my
Obliterators’ fleshmetal guns?

A. Determine these characteristics in step 1 of the Shooting
sequence, when you select the unit to shoot.

Q: Does the additional attack granted from the Butcher’s Nails
Legion Trait still apply if the unit is fighting for a second time, or
is the additional attack only applied the first time the unit fights in
that Fight phase?

A: Each model in the unit can specifically make one additional
attack in the subsequent Fight phase, therefore it only applies the
first time that unit fights in that Fight phase.

Q: If 1 use the Fire Frenzy Stratagem and the nearest visible enemy
unit is subject to the Look Out, Sir rule, but there is another enemy
unit closer that is not visible and not subject to the Look Out, Sir
rule, who do I target?

A: In such instances, you must target the nearest visible enemy unit
that is not subject to the Look Out, Sir rule.

Q: If I choose not to select a Mark of Chaos for Greater Possessed,
which units (if any) can benefit from its Locus of Power ability?
A: Only <LEGION> DAEMON units that you have also chosen not to
select a Mark of Chaos for.

Q: Can a model use the Incursion psychic power to summon a unit
even if it has moved during this turn? What about if it has already
used the Daemonic Ritual ability this turn?

A: Yes in either case.

Q: When using the Chaos Familiar Stratagem to replace a psychic
power, can I select a <MARK OF CHAOS> psychic power from the
Dark Hereticus discipline that the PSYKER would be eligible for?
A: Yes.
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Q: If I use the Daemon Shell or Flakk Missile Stratagem and I hit,
do I continue to roll to wound and do damage normally in addition
to doing mortal wounds?

A: No, the normal attack sequence ends.

Q: How should Perils of the Warp be resolved against Rubric
Marine units led by an Aspiring Sorcerer?

A: Any mortal wounds suffered are applied to the Sorcerer’s unit, so
can be applied to another model if you wish (if a model in that unit
has already suffered any wounds, any mortal wounds must still be
applied to this model first).

Q: If the Aspiring Sorcerer or Scarab Occult Sorcerer from a unit
has been slain, is this unit still treated as being a PSYKER?
A: Yes.

Designers Note: Whilst these units would not be able to manifest
or deny any psychic powers, any abilities, objectives or effects which
affect psykers are still likely to affect these warp-infused animated
suits of armour.

Q: Can the Killshot Stratagem be used to affect

Hellforged Predators?

A: No. The Killshot Stratagem can only be used to affect models
using the Chaos Predator datasheet.

Q: If I have a DAEMON model that can only be included once in
my army - for example, the Changeling — and that model is slain
during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to summon
it and add it to my army again?

A: Yes. Note that if you're playing a game that uses a points limit
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.

Q: Does disembarking effectively prevent a CHAOS CHARACTER
from summoning a DAEMON unit that turn using the Daemonic
Ritual ability?

A: Yes. Models that disembark count as having moved for all rules
purposes, including Daemonic Ritual.

Q: Can a Noise Marine use his Music of the Apocalypse ability if he
flees the battlefield?
A: No. This ability can only be used when the model is slain.

Q: If several Noise Marines are slain in the same attack, can they
each use their Music of the Apocalypse ability to throw a grenade,
or can only one of them do so?

A: Each of them can throw a grenade.

Q: Maulerfiends have a wargear option to ‘replace both magma
cutters with lasher tendrils’. Does this mean I replace both magma
cutters for a single ‘lasher tendrils’ weapon, or do I get two ‘lasher
tendrils’ weapons?

A: You replace both magma cutters with a single ‘lasher

tendrils” weapon.

Q: If I take a unit of DAEMONS in a Chaos Space Marines
Detachment, do I lose my Legion Trait?

A: Yes. However, if you summon a unit of DAEMONS and add them
to your army, doing so does not affect your Legion Trait.



Q: If 1 give a unit in my army an Icon of Vengeance, then at the
start of my first turn use the Beseech the Chaos Gods Stratagem to
make that unit dedicated to Khorne, Tzeentch, Nurgle or Slaanesh,
does the unit swap its Icon of Vengeance for the Chaos Icon of their
god, or does it keep the Icon of Vengeance?

A: It keeps the Icon of Vengeance.

Q: IfI'roll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a Daemon
Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet should I use
— the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of Chaos? In addition,
what wargear options can it take?

A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos Space
Marines. The model can be equipped with any of its normal
wargear options, providing you have the right model and it is
built appropriately.

Q: Are the bonus attacks from Death to the False Emperor and the
Excess of Violence Stratagem cumulative? For example, if a model
with an Attacks characteristic of 1 rolled a hit roll of 6+ when
attacking an IMPERIUM unit (thereby giving it an extra attack) and
then both of those attacks killed enemy models, would I then make
two extra attacks for that model? If yes, what happens if I roll hit
rolls of 6+ for these attacks?

A: Yes, they are cumulative. In the example given, you would
make two extra attacks but any further hit rolls of 6+ (and any
subsequent models slain) would not generate any further attacks.

Q: If an enemy CHARACTER is slain by the Gift of Chaos or
Possession psychic power, do I need to have the appropriate
reinforcement points set aside in order to set up the Chaos Spawn or
Greater Possessed?

A: Yes, if you are playing a game that uses a points limit.

Q: If I manifest the Gift of Chaos psychic power, and target a unit
whose models have different Toughness characteristics, which one
should I use?

A: Use the highest Toughness characteristic in the target unit.

Q: Do modifications to Haarken Worldclaimer’s Attacks
characteristic due to his Head-claimer ability last until the end of
the battle?

A: Yes.
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APPENDIX

The following errata apply only to the first edition of Codex: Chaos
Space Marines.

Page 116 - <Mark of Chaos>

Add the following to the last paragraph:

‘If a unit has the TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH keywords, it
cannot be from the World Eaters Legion, and if a unit has the
KHORNE, TZEENTCH or NURGLE keywords, it cannot be from the
Emperor’s Children Legion. In addition, PSYKERS cannot be from
the World Eaters Legion.’

Page 117 - Champion Equipment

Change the second heading to read:

‘One of the champion’s weapons can be chosen from the
following list:’

Page 117 - Daemonic Ritual, rules text

Change the third sentence of the third paragraph to read:

“This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be
placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the
character and more than 9" from any enemy model.’

*Page 120 — Kharn the Betrayer, Abilities, The Betrayer

Change to read:

“You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for Kharn the
Betrayer in the Fight phase. Instead, those attacks automatically
hit another friendly unit within Engagement Range of Kharn.
Randomly determine which unit is hit if there is more than one.
If there are no other friendly units within Engagement Range of
KhaArn, the hits are discarded.’

Page 121 - Cypher, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘No-one’s Puppet: Cypher cannot use the Daemonic Ritual
ability, even though he has the CHA0S and CHARACTER keywords.’

Page 129 - Bloodletters
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 - Plaguebearers
Add ‘DAeEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 — Daemonettes
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 132 — Khorne Berzerkers, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Berzerker Horde: The Battlefield Role of WoRLD EATERS Khorne
Berzerkers is Troops instead of Elites.’

Page 135 — Noise Marines, Abilities, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:

‘Do not remove the slain model yet — after the attacking unit has
finished making all its attacks, the slain model can shoot with one
of its ranged weapons as if it were your Shooting phase.’

Page 135 - Noise Marines, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Masters of the Kakophoni: The Battlefield Role of EMPEROR’S
CHILDREN Noise Marines is Troops instead of Elites.’

Page 136 — Chosen, Wargear Options
Change this unit’s wargear options to read:
‘e Any Chosen may take one item from the Melee Weapons list.
« Up to four Chosen may choose one of the following options:
« Replace his bolt pistol with a plasma pistol.
« Replace his boltgun with one item from the Combi-weapons or
Special Weapons lists.
« Replace his boltgun and bolt pistol with a lightning claw.

« An additional Chosen may replace his boltgun with one item
from the Special Weapons or Heavy Weapons lists.

« The Chosen Champion may either take one item from the Melee
Weapons list, or replace his boltgun and bolt pistol with items
from the Champion Equipment list.

» One model may take a Chaos Icon (pg 153).’

Page 138 — Helbrute, Wargear Options

Change the third bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace each Helbrute fist with a Helbrute
hammer or power scourge.’

Page 142 - Obliterators, fleshmetal guns

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal guns, roll
three D3, one after the other, to determine the characteristics of
the unit’s fleshmetal guns when resolving those attacks.’

Page 142 - Obliterators
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAeEMON’ to the keywords line.

Page 146 - Chaos Predator, Damage table
Change the top value under ‘Remaining W’ to read ‘6-11+".
Change the second value under ‘Remaining W’ to read ‘3-5.

Page 149 - Khorne Lord of Skulls
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAeEMON’ to the keywords line.

Page 157 - Abilities, Legion Traits, rules text

Change the first sentence to read:

‘If your army is Battle-forged, all CHARACTER, INFANTRY, BIKER

and HELBRUTE units in Chaos Space Marine Detachments gain a
Legion Trait, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from the
same Legion.’

Page 158 - Stratagems, Gifts of Chaos, rules text
Add the following:
“You can only use this Stratagem once per battle’

Page 158 - Stratagems, Chaos Boon, rules text

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Use this Stratagem at the end of a Fight phase in which one
of your HERETIC ASTARTES CHARACTERS (excluding DAEMON
CHARACTERS) slays an enemy CHARACTER, VEHICLE or MONSTER.
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*Page 158 - Stratagems, Chaos Boon, Spawndom

Change the third sentence to the following:

‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the character
and not within Engagement Range of any enemy units before
removing them as a casualty.’

Page 159 - Stratagems, Tide of Traitors, rules text
Add the following:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 159 - Stratagems, Killshot, rules text

Change the second sentence to read:

‘Add 1 to the wound rolls and damage for all of the Predators’
attacks that target MONSTERS or VEHICLES this phase.’

Page 160 - Stratagems, Forward Operatives

Change this Stratagem to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set up an
ALPHA LEGION INFANTRY unit from your army. At the start of the
first battle round but before the first turn begins, you can move
that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy
models. If both players have units that can move before the first
turn begins, the player who is taking the first turn moves their
units first. Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem once
per battle’

Page 161 — Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos, rules text
Change the second sentence to read:

‘If manifested, select an enemy unit that is within 6" of the psyker
and visible to him and roll a D6.

*Change the third sentence to read:

‘If a CHARACTER is destroyed by this power, you can add a Chaos
Spawn to your army within 6" of the character and not within
Engagement Range of any enemy units before they are removed as
a casualty’

Page 161 — Mark of Tzeentch: Weaver of Fates

Change the third sentence of rules text to read:

‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, the invulnerable save
of that unit is improved by 1 (to a maximum of 3+).

Page 165 - Legion Warlord Traits, Word Bearers: The Voice

of Lorgar

Change the rule to read:

‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g. Lord of
Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of any Prayers to the
Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord by 3"
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