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The following commentary is intended to complement 
Battletome: Seraphon. It is presented as a series of 
questions and answers; the questions are based on ones 
that have been asked by players, and the answers are 
provided by the rules writing team explain and how the 
rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help 
provide a default setting for your games, but players 
should always feel free to discuss the rules before a 
game, and change things as they see fit if they both want 
to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 
‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes 
are made any changes from the previous version will be 
highlighted in magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. 
‘Revision 2’, this means it has had a local update, only 
in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

Q: Can a Slann or Oracle carry out more than 1 celestial 
conjuration in the same hero phase?
A: No.

Q: Can a Seraphon army take endless spells from Malign 
Sorcery and bound endless spells as part of the same army?
A: Yes.

Q: If the answer to the above is yes, can a Seraphon army take 
the same endless spell model twice in a Pitched Battle? For 
example, can I take Purple Sun of Shyish and Bound Purple 
Sun of Shyish in the same army?
A: No.

Q: Can I use the Fangs of Sotek command ability ‘Parting Shot’ 
on any Fangs of Sotek unit with the Skink or Skinks keyword?
A: No, you can only use the command ability on 
a unit from the Skinks warscroll or Chameleon 
Skinks warscroll.

Q: Does the Coalesced battle trait ‘Scaly Skin’ apply to 
mortal wounds?
A: No.

Q: Can enemy units garrison a Realmshaper Engine?
A: Yes.

Q: Can I cast endless spells with a friendly Seraphon 
Wizard that is garrisoned in a Realmshaper Engine?
A: Yes.

Q: If the answer to the above is yes, what happens if that 
endless spell is a Balewind Vortex?
A: The Balewind Vortex model is set up within 1" of the 
Realmshaper Engine and more than 3" from any enemy 
models. The caster is then removed from the garrison 
and placed on top of the Balewind Vortex model.

Q: Can you explain how predatory endless spells are moved 
at the start of a battle round if a Seraphon bound endless spell 
and Ossiarch Bonereapers ‘Soul-linked’ endless spell are on 
the battlefield?
A: The players roll off and the winner moves their 
relevant endless spell(s) first.

Q: How does the Rend characteristic of attacks interact with the 
Bastiladon while it has a 1+ Save characteristic?
A: An unmodified save roll of a 1 always fails. When a 
save roll is modified by the Rend characteristic of an 
attack, it can never be modified to less than 1. When 
a model has a Save characteristic of 1+, modified save 
rolls of 1 are successfully saved. This means, while 
the Bastiladon has a Save characteristic of 1+, only 
unmodified save rolls of 1 will inflict damage regardless 
of the Rend characteristic of the weapon used for 
the attack.

BATTLETOME: SERAPHON
Designers’ Commentary, April 2020

®


