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BATTLETOME: BEASTS OF CHAOS
DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY, 
FEBRUARY 2023
The following commentary is intended to complement Battletome: 
Beasts of Chaos. It is presented as a series of questions and answers; 
the questions are based on ones that have been asked by players, and 
the answers are provided by the rules writing team and explain how 
the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help provide a 
default setting for your games, but players should always feel free to 
discuss the rules before a game, and change things as they see fit if 
they both want to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 
‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made, 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: Does the Aura of Insanity ability stack? For example, if 3 
Morghurite Chaos Spawn were within 1" of the same enemy unit, 
would 3 be subtracted from that enemy unit’s Attacks characteristic?
A: Yes.

Q: If a unit of Bestigors targets a unit with their attacks and 
that unit receives the All-out Defence command, does the unit 
of Bestigors get the +1 Attack characteristic bonus from the 
Despoilers ability?
A: Yes.

Q: Does the Beastherd Ambush ability give +1 to charge rolls if the 
unit is set up in the same turn with different abilities, e.g. with a 
Soulscream Bridge?
A: Yes.

Q: If I fail the roll for the Cockatrice’s Petrifying Gaze ability, can I roll 
again for the same unit with a different Cockatrice?
A: Yes.

Q: If I fail the roll for the Cockatrice’s Petrifying Gaze ability, is the 
enemy unit I picked still treated as ‘affected’ by the ability?
A: No.

Q: If I use the Doombull’s Slaughterer’s Call ability on a unit that 
made a run move or retreated in the same turn, can that unit 
still charge?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a Ghorgon pick the same enemy model with its Swallow Whole 
ability multiple times?
A: Yes.

Q: When a Beastlord is picked to fight for the first time in a phase, if 
I use the Call of Battle ability, can I pick a friendly Brayherd unit 
that is more than 3" from all enemy units to pile in?
A: No.

Q: What happens if my opponent can’t move a model that’s the target 
of Blood Taunt?
A: The ability has no effect.

Q: Can models move out of coherency from the effect of Blood Taunt?
A: No.

Q: Does the Tendrils of Atrophy spell increase the number of mortal 
wounds caused by the Bloodgreed ability?
A: No.

Q: Can I use the Inspired triumph on a friendly Ungor Raiders unit 
that shoots using the Hidden Volley ability?
A: Yes.

ERRATA, FEBRUARY 2023
The following errata correct errors in Battletome: Beasts of Chaos. 
The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made, any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta. 
Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it has had a 
local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or 
other minor correction.

Page 69 – Quakefray, Earthshatter
Change to:
‘Earthshatter is a prayer that has an answer value of 3 and a range 
of 12". If answered, pick 1 objective within range of the chanter. 
Each unit within 6" of that objective suffers D3 mortal wounds, 
and, until your next hero phase, when determining the number of 
models in units that are contesting that objective, that number must 
be halved (rounding down). This prayer has no effect on Beasts of 
Chaos units.’

Page 81 – Battle Tactics, Aid of the Wilderness
Change to:
‘You complete this tactic if there are 2 or more friendly Beasts of 
Chaos units wholly on a terrain feature that is wholly outside of 
your territory at the end of this turn.’

Page 85 – Ungor Raiders, Hidden Volley
Change to:
‘Once per battle, at the start of your movement phase, if this unit is 
in reserve, you can pick a point on the battlefield edge and say that 
this unit will unleash a hidden volley. If you do so, this unit can shoot 
in that phase, but it must target the closest eligible enemy unit to 
that point. The range and visibility to and from models in this unit 
are determined using the point you picked instead of the models 
themselves. If more than 1 enemy unit is tied to be the closest eligible 
enemy unit, you can pick which unit is the target.’

Page 94 – Jabberslythe
Add the following:
‘FLY: This unit can fly.’

Page 104 – Beasts of Chaos Tzaangor Enlightened
Change the points value to ‘90’.
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